skip to page content | skip to main navigation
summary  SOCRATES  E-JOURNALS  SITE SEARCH  ASK US  TEXT ONLY SULAIR HOME  SU HOME
 Catalog and Search Tools  Research Help   Libraries and Collections  Services  How To ...  About SULAIR
ENGINEERING LIBRARY
Printer-Friendly Printer-Friendly

Subject Guides

Bioengineering | Civil and Environmental Engineering | Electrical Engineering | Geothermal Engineering | Management Science and Engineering | Materials Science and Engineering | Mechanical Engineering

Aeronautics and Astronautics : Journal Articles

Some databases, like IEEE/IEE Library, contain full-text articles. However, many of the databases you can use to find journal articles are called Abstracting and Indexing databases because they contain citation information, such as author, journal, publication date, the abstract of the article, etc.

This citation information can be used to help locate the full-text in the following ways:

  • Link to the full-text of the article in antoher database by clicking on a button that says find it at Stanford.
  • If you don't see the find it @ SU button, search Socrates, the Stanford Libraries Catalog, by Periodical Title to determine if the journal is available to you through the Stanford Libraries.
  • If the journal is not in the Socrates, you can request it from another library via InterLibrary Services.

Databases to Use When Looking for Journal Articles:

Aerospace & High Technology Database (1962-present) Stanford only

Provides bibliographic coverage of basic and applied research in aeronautics, astronautics, and space sciences. The database also covers technology development and applications in complementary and supporting fields such as chemistry, geosciences, physics, communications, and electronics. In addition to periodic literature, the database also includes coverage of reports issued by NASA, other U.S. government agencies, international institutions, universities, and private firms.

AIAA Meetings Papers Database (1963-present) Stanford only

Full-text access to AIAA Journal, Journal of Aircraft, Journal of Guidance, Control, and Dynamics, Journal of Propulsion and Power, Journal of Spacecraft and Rockets, Journal of Thermophysics and Heat Transfer, and meeting papers.
Engineering Index (EI/Compendex)(1884+) Stanford only Available through Engineering Village. Compendex contains over seven million references and abstracts taken from over 5,000 engineering journals, conferences and technical reports. Online coverage is from 1969 to the present and includes nuclear technology, bioengineering, transportation, chemical and process engineering, light and optical technology, agricultural engineering and food technology, computers and data processing, applied physics, electronics and communications, control, civil, mechanical, materials, petroleum, aerospace and automotive engineering as well as narrower subtopics within all these and other major engineering fields.
IEEE Xplore: IEEE/IEE Electronic Library Stanford only

IEEE Xplore is a digital library providing full text access to the world's highest quality technical literature in electrical engineering, computer science, and electronics. IEEE Xplore contains full text documents from IEEE journals, transactions, magazines, letters, conference proceedings, standards, and IET (Institution of Engineering and Technology) publications.

Inspec Stanford only Contains citations and abstracts to the literature in physics, electrical engineering, electronics, telecommunications, computers, control technology, and information technology. Covers journal articles, conference papers, significant books, technical reports, dissertations, and patents. INSPEC is the premier database for physics & related disciplines but also covers areas like systems management and operations research.
Scitopia A free federated vertical search portal for 15 professional scholarly societies (Acoustical Society of America, American Geophysical Union, American Institute of Aeronautics and Astronautics, American Institute of Physics, American Physical Society, American Society of Civil Engineers, American Society of Mechanical Engineers, American Vacuum Society, The Electrochemical Society, The Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers, Institute of Physics Publishing, Optical Society of America, Society of Automotive Engineers, Society for Industrial and Applie Mathematics and SPIE). Content sources include: three million articles and conference proceedings 50 million patents from the world's major patent offices full-text documents from the US Dept of Energy Information Bridge site
Web of Knowledge (Science Citation Index, 1945-present) Stanford only Provides for forward or backward cited searching. With a recent article, you typically use the bibliography to go back in time. In a way, the citation index lets you do the reverse. You can take an older article and see who has cited that article since it was published.

 

Helen Josephine
Engineering Library
Stanford University

engreference@stanford.edu



Last modified: October 6, 2008

   
seal © Stanford University. Stanford, CA 94305. (650) 723-2300. Terms of Use | Copyright Complaints