Subject Guides
Bioengineering |
Civil and Environmental Engineering |
Electrical Engineering |
Geothermal Engineering |
Management Science and Engineering |
Materials Science and Engineering |
Mechanical Engineering
Aeronautics and Astronautics : Material Properties and Aircraft Information
Online sources of material property information provide interactive tools to discover the
mechanical, thermophysical, electrical properties of alloys, composites, ceramics adhesives and others.
Aerospace
Structural Materials Database (ASMD) 
|
The ASMD was developed by CINDAS LLC and is provided through a
Cooperative Research and Development Agreement (CRADA) with the United States Air Force.
The database contains approximately 80,000 data curves on over 200 alloys used in the aerospace
and other industries. This is the new web version of Aerospace Structural Metals Handbook (ASMH)
|
Thermophysical Properties
of Matter Database (TPMD) 
|
The TPMD contains thermophysical properties of over 5,000 materials
with approximately 50,000 data curves. This is the searchable, electronic version of the
Thermophysical Properties of Matter, the TPRC data series. In this new web-based format,
the database is continually updated and expanded. |
Online sources of aircraft information on structure, engines and avionics provide detailed
manufacturer information, specifications and photographs.
|
Flight Global
|
Flight Global group's motto is "serious about
aviation", and it shows on their homepage, where visitors can find over thirteen
sections dedicated to air transport, helicopters, training, and spaceflight. The more
casual user may just wish to click on a few of the "Latest News Headlines", but dedicated
aeronautics devotees may wish to sign up for their e-newsletter and their
RSS feed. Moving down the site's homepage, visitors can cruise on in to the
"What's Hot" area and the "Jobs" section, which might be useful for future
members of a flight crew or those looking to make a more dramatic career change.
|
JANE’S All the World’s Aircraft (AWA)
|
Jane’s All the World’s Aircraft provides technical detail on over 950
civil and military aircraft currently being produced or under development by more than 550 companies.
Complete with photographs and line drawings to aid recognition and comparison. Each entry contains key
specifications for any aircraft, including dimensions, performance, structure, landing gear, power plants
and armaments. This is the web version of the print resources and covers 5 years of data. To search, use the
tab labeled Janes' reference.
|
JANE’S Avionics
|
Jane’s Avionics contins detailed information on airborne electronic equipment for
both military and civilian aircraft. Earch Entry is arranged by country of manufacture and contains information on function, development history, technical description, specifications, operational status and contractor, supplying detailed system assessment. Color images are used wherever relevant to facilitate quick assimilation and comparison of important design and layout characteristics. This is the web version of the print resource and is updated continually. To search, use the tab labeled Janes' reference.
|
Helen Josephine
Engineering Library
Stanford University
engreference@stanford.edu
Last modified:
October 13, 2008
|