| |
Find Journal Articles
Some databases, like IEEE/IEE Library, contain full-text articles. However, many of the databases you can use to find bioengineering journal articles are called Abstracting and Indexing databases because they contain citation information, such as author, journal, publication date, the abstract of the article, etc.
This citation information can be used to help locate the full-text in the following ways:
- Link to the full-text of the article in another database by clicking on a button that says
.
- If you don't see the find it @ SU button, search Socrates, the Stanford Libraries Catalog, by Periodical Title to determine if the journal is available to you through the Stanford Libraries or browse our list of e-journals.
- If the journal is not in the Socrates, you can request it from another library via InterLibrary Services.
Suggested Databases to Use When Looking for Journal Articles
| AGRICOLA |
Covers agriculture and allied disciplines, including animal and veterinary sciences, entomology, plant sciences, forestry, aquaculture and fisheries, farming and farming systems, agricultural economics, extension and education, food and human nutrition, and earth and environmental sciences. |
Agricultural & Environmental Biotechnology Abstracts  |
This database covers both plants and animals, new applications across the food industry, and wide-ranging environmental developments. Plant genome studies are examined in detail. Other topics include patents, new product approval, fermentation, soil microorganisms, bioremediation, transgenic plants and animals, breeding techniques, biopesticides, food production and safety tests, treatment and disposal of wastes, biochemical applications in water treatment, and industrial hygiene |
BIOSIS  |
Indexes and abstracts worldwide literature on all biological and biomedical topics. It is the online equivalent to Biological Abstracts and Biological Abstracts/RRM. |
Chemical Abstracts  |
Chemical Abstracts is a bibliographic database covering worldwide literature from all areas of chemistry, biochemistry, and chemical engineering. Chemical Abstracts monitors over 9,000 journals and includes patents, conference proceedings, technical reports, books, dissertations, and reviews. Access using SciFinder Scholar. |
Engineering Index (EI/Compendex)(1884+) |
Indexes and abstracts approximately 1,500 journals and hundreds of conferences annually in all fields of Engineering. It is available online from 1884 to present. |
IEEE Xplore  |
Covers electrical engineering, computer engineering, biomedical technology, telecommunications, electric power, aerospace and consumer electronics and more. Includes full-text journal articles, standards, and IEEE/IEE conference proceedings. |
INSPEC  |
Provides a comprehensive index to the published literature in physics, electrical/electronic engineering, computing, control engineering, information technology, production, manufacturing and mechanical engineering as well as materials science, oceanography, nuclear engineering, geophysics, biomedical engineering and biophysics. Coverage begins in 1898. |
Medline 
(PubMed)
|
Medline is a database indexing journals in the fields of medicine, basic medical sciences including molecular and cellular biology and genetics, as well as allied health. Medline is also available via Ovid, OCLC, and the NLM Gateway. |
Find Books and E-books in the Library
Selected Encyclopedias
Access Science  |
Quality encyclopedia articles from the McGraw Hill Science & Technology Encyclopedia. Of particular interest for students: topical study guides on biomedical science, chemistry, and engineering. |
Burger's Medicinal Chemistry and Drug Discovery  |
Offers a comprehensive, global perspective of drug design and drug development. |
Encyclopedia of Bioprocess Technology  |
This work presents the state-of-the-art in biotechnology focusing on fermentation, biocatalysis and bioseparation. |
Encyclopedia of Smart Materials  |
Addresses commercial applications as well as examining sophisticated units designed to operate in space, underwater, underground, and within the human body. Discussions of theory, fabrication, processing, applications, and uses of these unique materials are presented. |
Kirk-Othmer Encyclopedia of Chemical Technology  |
Presents a wide scope of articles on chemical substances—including their properties, manufacturing, and uses. Additionally, environmental and health issues concerning chemical technology are also addressed. |
Ullman's Encyclopedia of Industrial and Electronics Engineering  |
Subject areas include: inorganic and organic chemicals, advanced materials, pharmaceuticals, polymers and plastics, metals and alloys, biotechnology and biotechnological products, food chemistry, process engineering and unit operations, analytical |
Selected Handbooks
Knovel  |
Read full-text for over 800 engineering & scientific online references, such as:
|
SCI-TECHnetBASE  |
Science and Engineering handbooks online. Includes books about medical devices design, neuroprosthetic methods, biomedical imaging, biomedical instrumentation, and more. Titles include:
|
SpringerLink  |
Springer Online Science Books including:
|
Synthesis Digital Library of Engineering & Computer Science |
50-100 page e-books that cover graduate-level topics in biomedical, environmental, electrical engineering, and computer science from academic, corporate, and government labs. |
Find Materials Data
ASM Materials for Medical Devices 
A database containing mechanical, physical and biological responses as well as drug compatibility properties for the materials and coatings used in medical devices
ASM Materials Information 
The 20 volume ASM Handbook (formerly known as the Metals Handbook) and two ASM Desk Editions – the Engineered Materials Handbook and the Metals Handbook. This subscription also includes the ASM Alloy Center, searchable database of alloy data.
*Resources labeled with the icon are restricted to Stanford users only.
|