skip to page content | skip to main navigation
summary  SOCRATES  E-JOURNALS  SITE SEARCH  ASK US  TEXT ONLY SULAIR HOME  SU HOME
 Catalog and Search Tools  Research Help   Libraries and Collections  Services  How To ...  About SULAIR
ENGINEERING LIBRARY
Printer-Friendly Printer-Friendly

Subject Guides

Aeronautics and Astronautics | Bioengineering | Civil and Environmental Engineering | Electrical Engineering | Geothermal Engineering | Management Science and Engineering | Materials Science and Engineering | Mechanical Engineering

Materials Science and Engineering


Finding Articles, Technical Reports & Conference Papers

Citation information from databases can be used to help locate the full-text in the following ways:

  • Link to the full-text of the article in another location by clicking on a button that says .
  • If you don't see the find it @ SU button, search Socrates, the online catalog, using Periodical Title to determine whether the journal is available through the Stanford Libraries.
  • If the journal is not in Socrates, you can request it from another library via Interlibrary Services (ILL).

Aerospace and High Technology Database - Provides access to articles on materials for Aerospace uses.

Beilstein Database – Covers the literature of organic chemistry from 1779 to the present and corresponds to the print Beilstein Handbook of Organic Compounds

Chemical Abstracts using Scifinder software - Indexes journals, patents, technical reports, dissertations, conference proceedings, and books in Biochemistry; Physical, Inorganic, and Analytical Chemistry; Applied Chemistry and Chemical Engineering; Macromolecular Chemistry; and Organic Chemistry.

Conference Papers Index - Provides citations to papers and poster sessions presented at scientific meetings around the world.

Engineering Index – (also called Compendex) Contains over 9 million records and references over 5,000 international engineering sources including journal, conference, and trade publications.

Gmelin Crossfire - Covers the worldwide literature of inorganic and organometallic compounds from 1772 to the present.

INSPEC via LANL - Civil and Environmental engineers should be interested in INSPEC's coverage of mechanics, fluid mechanics, numerical methods, and computing.

MatWeb - Searchable database of material properties includes thermoplastic and thermoset polymers, metals, ceramics, semiconductors, fibers, and other engineering materials.

Medline - Database of the U.S. National Library of Medicine (NLM). Contains over 16 million references to journal articles in life sciences with a concentration on biomedicine.

NTIS (National Technical Information Service) - Citations and abstracts from unclassified government-sponsored research reports from the Departments of Defense, Energy, NASA, and other federal agencies. Includes some international document abstracts.

PubMed - A free publicly accessible database that provides access to bibliographic information that includes MEDLINE and OLDMEDLINE. Some links to full text. A useful back-up to the regular database.

Toxicology Abstracts - Provides abstracts for toxicology studies across a wide range of substances including industrial and agricultural chemicals, household products, pharmaceuticals.

TOXLINE - Citations to journal articles on atmospheric and environmental pollution, chemical and medical poisons and antidotes, carcinogenesis, genotoxicity, mutagenicity, and radioactive materials.

SciSearch via Web of Knowledge - Indexes authors who have been cited in current literature across 100 scientific disciplines. Key feature is the ability to search by who is citing various papers by other authors.

Scitopia – A federated search portal created through the collaboration of 15 leading science and technology societies. It searches the electronic libraries of these societies, including more than three million documents, peer-reviewed journal content and technical conference papers. Though the search is freely available, access to many documents requires authentication.

Return to Table of Contents


Finding Books E-books & Full Text Online Journals

To locate print books and journals on the Stanford Campus, use Socrates, the online catalog. The articles in the journals will NOT appear in the catalog, only journal titles (ex. Coastal Engineering, Structural Engineer).

Grouped Resource Pages

Specialty Resources

ASM Materials Information - The 20 volume ASM Handbook (formerly known as the Metals Handbook) and two ASM Desk Editions – the Engineered Materials Handbook and the Metals Handbook. This subscription also includes the ASM Alloy Center, searchable database of alloy data.

ASM Alloy Phase Diagrams Center - Allows users to explore, search and view binary and ternary phase diagrams and associated phase data.

ASTM Digital Library - Standards used in R&D, product testing, quality systems, and commercial transactions as well as over 950 Special Technical Publications, 50 Manuals and Monographs, and more than 13,000 Journal Articles.

Composite Materials Handbook 2002 revision [in Knovel Online Library]

CINDAS Properties Databases - Aerospace Structural Metals Database (ASMD), Microelectronics Packaging Materials Database (MPMD), Thermophysical Properties of Matter Database (TPMD), databases contain data and information on thermal, mechanical, electrical and physical properties of alloys and materials.

CRC Materials Science and Engineering Handbook [in ENGnetBASE] - A comprehensive source available for data on engineering materials including new tabular material for nonferrous alloys and composite materials and more than 300 tables covering all important categories.

DIPPR (Design Institute for Physical Property Data) Chemical Database - A database of physical and thermodynamic properties of pure chemicals consists of experimental data and correlations of temperature-dependent properties for over 1,800 pure chemicals. Collected data have been evaluated, correlated and checked for thermodynamic consistency. From this site you can view data sets, DIPPR-approved property constants and regressed correlation coefficients for temperature-dependent properties, as well as calculate temperature-dependent properties in any set of units. 2-D and 3-D representations of chemical structures now available; click on the words Structural Formula on the constant properties summary sheet to view them.

Encyclopedia of Applied Physics – Coverage of all technically pertinent areas of modern-day physics, coupled with technological applications from real life.

Encyclopedia of Chemical Technology (Kirk-Othmer) – A chemistry encyclopedia with a major emphasis on the applied aspects of chemistry and chemical engineering. Coverage includes chemical substances including properties, manufacture of the substances.

Encyclopedia of Polymer Science and Engineering 2002 – Over 500 articles polymers, plastics, fibers, biomaterials, elastomers, and polymerization processes. Updated quarterly with new and substantially revised articles.

Encyclopedia of Smart Materials – Provides a description of a complex and growing interdisciplinary field, covering materials (ceramic, metallic, polymeric, biologic, and composite), phenomena, characterization.

Engineered Materials Handbook 1987 – Contains an introductory section on general information and data, followed by sections on polymeric materials, engineering plastics, polymer-matrix composites, adhesives and sealants, ceramics.

Handbook of Composites 1998 [in Knovel Online Library] – Focuses on polymeric matrix, metal matrix, and ceramic matrix composites.

Knovel Library – Engineering and scientific reference books. Subject areas include chemistry and plastics, materials science, environmental science, microelectronics materials.

MRS Online Proceedings Library – E-conferences and journals Contains peer-reviewed papers presented at Materials Research Society Meetings since the 2000 Spring meeting.

NANOnetBASE – A collection of reference ebooks in nanoscience and nanotechnology from CRC Press

Perry's Chemical Engineers' Handbook [in Knovel Online Library] – Coverage of all aspects of chemical engineering, from the fundamentals to details on computer applications and control. Definitive reference for chemical and process engineers.

ScienceDirect – E-books and journals - A web information source for scientific, technical, and medical research (STM) that offers access to more than 1,800 journals across 24 fields of science including the social sciences. Offers full-text articles, browsable tables of contents, and article abstracts. Many titles have full-text coverage from the first volume to the present.

SpringerLink - Books and journals in Engineering, Earth and Environmental science and other Science & Technology topics.

Uhlig's Corrosion Handbook [in Knovel Online Library] – Covers fundamentals of corrosion science and engineering, non-metals, metals, corrosion protection, and testing for corrosion resistance.

Ullmann's Encyclopedia of Industrial Chemistry – The worlds's largest technical encyclopedia, this is also a very trusted source of information on a wide variety of fields that involve chemistry.

Return to Table of Contents


Web Resources

BUBL: Materials Science - The materials science site from the BUBL Information Service.

Center for Theoretical and Computational Materials Science - A Resource of Theory and Modeling Techniques, Expertise, and Collaboration in Materials Science. Maintained by the National Institute of Standards and Technology.

Crystallography Online - Provides links to current information concerning crystallography and other topics of interest to crystallographers.

Directory of Open Access Journals Technology and Engineering (DOAJ) - Includes free full text online journals in Chemical Technology, Materials Science and other disciplines.

Department of Energy (DOE) - Provides energy related information from the Department of Energy. Covers full text DOE documents and regulations.

EINet: Materials Science - The TradeWave Galaxy site for materials science.

Occupational Safety and Health Administration (OSHA) - Information on occupation related health and safety. Covers OSHA documents and regulations.

Tribology Internet Resources - Maintained at Sheffield University. A source for news and reference information relating to tribology, publicize relevant seminars, conference, and events, and a tribology discussion forum.

Virtual Technical Reports Center - full-text reports, or searchable extended abstracts of their technical reports on the World Wide Web.

Return to Table of Contents


Kathleen Gust
Engineering Library
engreference@stanford.edu



Last modified: October 3, 2008

   
seal ©2005 The Board of Trustees of the Leland Stanford Junior University. All rights reserved.