|
 |
Subject Guides
Aeronautics and Astronautics |
Bioengineering | Civil and Environmental Engineering | Electrical Engineering |
Geothermal Engineering | Management Science and Engineering | Materials Science and Engineering
Mechanical Engineering
Finding Journal Articles
Books & E-Books
Technical Reports
Standards
Mechanical Engineering Web Resources
|
Finding Journal Articles
Some databases, like IEEE/IEE Library, contain full-text articles. However, many of the databases you can use to find journal articles are called Abstracting and Indexing databases because they contain citation information, such as author, journal, publication date, the abstract of the article, etc.
This citation information can be used to help locate the full-text in the following ways:
- Link to the full-text of the article in another database by clicking on a button that says
.
- If you don't see the find it @ SU button, search Socrates, the Stanford Libraries Catalog, by Periodical Title to determine if the journal is available to you through the Stanford Libraries.
- If the journal is not in the Socrates, you can request it from another library via Interlibrary Loan Services (ILL).
Databases to use when looking for journal articles
|
Aerospace & High Technology Database (1962-present)  |
Basic and applied research in aeronautics, astronautics, and space sciences; also covers technology development and applications in supporting fields such as chemistry, geosciences, mechanical engineering, physics, communications, and electronics.
An alternative version of the Aerospace Database is also available on the web as NASA TRS from 1962 to present
|
Engineering Index (EI/Compendex) (1884 +)  |
Civil, mechanical, industrial, electrical and chemical engineering; electronics and computer science; bio-engineering; energy technology and materials science.
|
INSPEC (1969-present)  |
Physics, electronics, and computing; good for control and fluids engineering. |
SciSearch (1900-present)  |
Citations published in Science Citation Index and additional records from Current Contents. Abstracts beginning with January 1991.
|
| Scitopia |
Scitopia.org is a free federated vertical search portal including the publications of 15 scientific societies, patents from the European, Japanese and US patent offices, and full-text documents from the U.S. Department of Energy.
|
| eFunda |
eFunda an online destination for the engineering community, where working professionals can quickly find concise and reliable information. |
|
Other resources
| SAE Publications and Standards |
Automotive and aerospace engineering applications including engine performance, aerodynamic design, alternative fuels, materials and manufacturing, and safety.
Transactions/Technical papers
- 1911-1978 bound serial volumes
- 1974-2004 microfiche
- 2005 on CD-ROM
Indexes back to 1906
- Engineering stacks: TL1 .C83
- CD-ROM: TL151 .S2
SAE Standards are included in the SAE Handbook located in the Reference collection under TL151 .S2
|
|
Open access journal resources
Open J-Gate
|
Open J-Gate provides access to millions of journal articles available online. |
Directory of Open Access Journals (DOAJ)
|
This service covers free, full text, quality controlled scientific and scholarly journals. |
|
Online Science & Engineering Encyclopedias
|
Mechanical Engineering Web Resources
- BUBL LINK Catalogue of Internet Resources
Mechanical Engineering sites from the BUBL Information Services
- eFluids
eFluids: flow engineering, fluid mechanics research, education and directly related topics.
- Intute
Intute: Science, Engineering and covers the physical sciences, engineering, computing, geography, mathematics and environmental science.
- MEMS and nanotechnology clearinghouse
An information resource for the MEMS and Nanotechnology development
- SciCentral
Offers links to sources of breaking science news, research highlights, and special reports.
|
Sarah Lester
Mechanical Engineering & Design Liaison
Engineering Library
Stanford University
slester@stanford.edu
Last modified:
April 16, 2008
|
|