skip to page content | skip to main navigation
summary  SOCRATES  E-JOURNALS  SITE SEARCH  ASK US  TEXT ONLY SULAIR HOME  SU HOME
 Catalog and Search Tools  Research Help   Libraries and Collections  Services  How To ...  About SULAIR
ENGINEERING LIBRARY
Printer-Friendly Printer-Friendly

Subject Guides

Aeronautics and Astronautics | Bioengineering | Civil and Environmental Engineering | Electrical Engineering | Geothermal Engineering | Management Science and Engineering | Materials Science and Engineering | Mechanical Engineering

Conference Proceedings

Conference papers are good places to find research from engineering or scientific societies, since research is often presented at conferences before it is published in journal articles.

To find conference proceedings, search a database that contains abstracts of conference proceedings. 


Searching Databases for Conference Proceedings:

Use the databases below to find information about the conference paper like the title of the paper, the author, and the name of the confernece. Then check to see if the library owns that volume of the proceedings by searching the Socrates, the Stanford Libraries Catalog.

Provides citations to papers and poster sessions presented at major scientific meetings around the world. Subject emphasis since 1995 has been in the life sciences, environmental sciences and the aquatic sciences, while older material also covers physics, engineering and materials science.

SPIE Digital Library Stanford only

 

Covers proceedings in biomedical optics, nano- and micro- technologies, medical imaging and more from 1990-current

IEEE Xplore: IEEE/IEE Electronic Library Stanford only

Covers electrical engineering, computer engineering, biomedical technology, telecommunications, electric power, aerospace and consumer electronics and more.  Includes full-text journal articles, standards, and IEEE/IEE conference proceedings.
Engineering Index (EI/Compendex)(1884+) Stanford only Contains over 4 million abstracts that cover journals, conference proceedings, books, technical reports, and dissertations. Coverage spans over 176 disciplines and major specialties within engineering.

Check to see if Stanford owns the Proceedings...

Conference proceedings can be tricky to find in the library because sometimes they are treated as books and other times as journals. To find a conference proceeding in Socrates, enter keywords from the conference name and click “Search Everything.” Be prepared to try several different searches and if you are unsure if the library owns the proceedings, please contact a librarian.

If Stanford does not have the conference proceedings, request it from another library via InterLibrary Loan. Contact the Engineering Reference Librarians for assistance.

Sarah Lester
Engineering Library
Stanford University

engreference@stanford.edu



Last modified: October 3, 2008

   
seal © Stanford University. Stanford, CA 94305. (650) 723-2300. Terms of Use | Copyright Complaints