Searchable database containing streaming video files of dance productions and documentaries by influential performers and companies of the 20th century. Selections cover ballet, tap, jazz, contemporary, experimental, and improvisational dance, as well as forerunners of the forms and the pioneers of modern concert dance. Videos can be browsed by people, role, ensemble, genre, and venue. Material types include documentaries, editorials, instructional, interviews, and performances. Database users may create their own custom playlists and video clips.
Cross-searches audio, video, scores, and full-text reference content from all Alexander Street Press music databases: African American Music Reference, American Song, Classical Music Library, Classical Music Reference Library, Classical Scores Library, Contemporary World Music, Dance in Video, The Garland Encyclopedia of World Music Online, Jazz Music Library, Opera in Video, Smithsonian Global Sound for Libraries.
Online exhibit of brief video performance excerpts spanning from 1930s dance pioneers to today's most exciting artists recorded at Jacob's Pillow Dance Festival, Massachusetts. Browse videos by artists, genres, or era.
Selected Special Collections Archives in Dance.
Special collections are held off campus and must be paged in advance of use. For further information please visit the Special Collections web site.
A pioneer in video art, Vélez, together with Gary Hill and Bill Viola, was at the forefront of the generation that established video as an art form in the 1970s. Correspondence, scripts, business papers, original artwork, and production stills related to videos. Twenty completed video works, nearly half of which are out of distribution, 51 hours of video documentation including "Behind the Scenes, " a 19-hour documentary of the production process for two key works: A MOSQUE IN TIME and MEMORY OF FIRE, and a 32-hour documentary of Japanese Butoh dance, and last, video copies of television interviews with Vélez for Spanish, Argentinian, and Japanese television.
An American dancer, living in Hollywood, who was particularly interested in the spiritual ramifications of dance, and promoting better understanding between church (broadly defined) and arts. This collection contains articles, photographs, dance programs, and clippings.
Hanya Holm is known as one of the "Big Four" founders of American modern dance. She was a dancer, choreographer, and above all, a dance educator. This collection of 19 videocassettes contains a selection of outtakes from Hanya, Portrait of a Pioneer, which was shown on PBS in 1985.
Orchesis was an honorary dance society at Stanford. Members auditioned for election to the society, and had to serve an apprenticeship before receiving full membership. Correspondence, programs, photographs and scrapbooks relating to this honorary women's modern dance society. Also includes files (1941-1952) and programs (1938-1956).
Modern Dance Videos
A selection of recent modern dance DVDs and videos.