BIOSIS Citation Index indexes the worldwide literature of research in the biological and biomedical sciences. The database covers the entire field of life sciences including original research reports and reviews in field, laboratory, clinical, experimental, and theoretical work. BIOSIS indexes journals, technical reports, meeting proceedings, United States patents, and books in biology, biomedicine, and related areas.
Developed by the National Center for Biotechnology Information (NCBI), Pubmed is a free version of MEDLINE that offers links to GenBank records, other molecular sequence data, and other resources. MEDLINE, produced by the National Library of Medicine, is an index to journal articles in medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, the health care system, and the preclinical sciences, including both basic biomedical sciences and clinical practice. It indexes over 4,000 journals.
The Web of Science service, available via ISI Web of Knowledge, includes three core component databases: the expanded version of Science Citation Index (SciSearch), Social Sciences Citation Index, and Arts & Humanities Citation Index. The Science Citation Index provides access to current and retrospective bibliographic information, author abstracts, and cited references found in the world's leading scholarly science and technical journals covering over 100 disciplines from 1900 to the present.
xSearch, developed through the Stanford University Libraries' partnership with Deep Web Technologies, provides Stanford researchers and students with a single search option for multiple online resources. Searches may be limited to specific databases, or all available sources may be searched simultaneously. Search results are merged into one relevance ranked list, and are clustered by topic, author, source publication, publisher, and date.
The amphibian embryology tutorial takes you through various stages, including oogenesis, cleavage, gastrulation and neurulation. Each stage provides background information as well as diagrams and pictures. There is also an extensive glossary.
Cold Spring Harbor Protocols is an interdisciplinary digital journal providing a definitive source of research methods in cell, developmental and molecular biology, genetics, bioinformatics, protein science, computational biology, immunology, neuroscience and imaging. Each monthly issue details multiple essential methods—a mix of cutting-edge and well-established techniques. Newly commissioned protocols and unsolicited submissions are supplemented with articles based on Cold Spring Harbor Laboratory’s courses and manuals.
The developmental biology online website developed for a course at the University of Guelph gives great outlines and photographs on various subjects in developmental biology. Some of which include cleavage, gametogenesis, gastrulation and information on various animals.
The official website for the International Journal of Developmental Biology allows searching of abstracts, full text for some articles in back issues, and special issues covering a variety of topics in developmental biology.
This tutorial is designed as an addition to developmental biology lectures and introduces you to the dynamics of embryonic growth. It includes extensive information on C. elegans, Xenopus, Drosophila, chick, fish and the sea urchin.
This portion of the Society for Developmental Biology website contains an extensive virtual library, with links to various subjects including early development, morphogenesis, cell lineage and patterns, and various organisms. Each link leads to listings of websites for various labs, each including research and techniques regarding a specific topic.
The visible embryo provides information on human development from conception to birth that can be used by students. Accompanying the pictures and information regarding normal development are pictures and information about abnormal embryonic development.
The Zebrafish Information Network is a comprehensive database on everything there is to know about Zebrafish, including transgenics, wild-type lines, genes, gene expression, genetics maps and publications.
Supports the development and use of statistical methods for addressing the problems and critical issues that confront scientists, practitioners and policy makers engaged in the life and medical sciences.