Gustave Gimon Collection on French Political Economy

 Stanford University Libraries is accepting applications for a short-term research fellowship for scholars wishing to use the Gustave Gimon Collection on French Political Economy, held in the Libraries' Special Collections department. The Libraries annually awards one stipend of $3000-$5000 (depending on the length of visit, expected to last from 2 to 4 weeks) in support of research in the collections. The fellowship stipends are to be used to defray the costs for travel, lodging, food, and photocopying associated with the recipient's research trip. This fellowship program is funded by a grant from the Flora Family Foundation.

The current application deadline is April 30, 2017.  The fellowship can be used September 2017 to August 2018. The scholar should plan on visiting while the university is in session so that he or she can meet with Stanford faculty and students.

Scholars working on serious projects about French political economy may apply, including advanced graduate students at the dissertation phase of their study. Selection criteria include the relevance of Gimon Collection to the candidate's project, the contribution that the finished work will make to our understanding of French political economy, and the applicant's qualifications. The library encourages potential applicants to contact the curator, Sarah Sussman, for more information about the scope and contents of the collection.

There is no application form. Interested researchers are encouraged to send in a detailed project proposal of no more than 1000 words clearly stating why materials in the Gimon Collection are essential to carrying out the research project, two letters of recommendation from scholars in the field, and a curriculum vitae.

Proposals are to be sent by April 30, 2017 to:

Sarah Sussman, Curator French and Italian Collections
Gimon Collection Visiting Scholar Fellowship
Green Library, Room 320A
Stanford University Libraries
Stanford , CA 94305

For more information contact: Sarah Sussman at ssussman@stanford.edu or 650-723-9481

Here you will find a bibliography for the Gimon Collection. For additional materials on French political economy in the Stanford University Libraries, please search the library catalog. 

The Gustave Gimon Collection on French Political Economy

The Gimon Collection contains approximately 1000 titles that concentrate broadly on the evolution of French economics and politics from the late sixteenth to the mid nineteenth century. The Gimon Collection embodies a broad definition of political economy and its materials span the three centuries from 1550-1850. Scholars working in fields as varied as History, Literature, Art History, Economics, and Philosophy will find rich resources for their research in the collection. The Gimon Collection is particularly strong in material from the eighteenth and nineteenth centuries. Topics of focus include physiocracy, nineteenth century utopian thought (Saint-Simonianism and Fourierism), workers' rights, and how economic, social, and political thought was applied to issues as varied as religious freedom, political sovereignty, taxation and trade policies, colonial issues, agriculture, and transportation. Other materials held in Stanford University Libraries complement the Gimon Collection's strengths, including notable collections on the European Enlightenment, the French Revolution, the Paris Commune, poverty and workers' issues, and women.

 

Offre de bourse sur l'économie politique française

La bibliothèque de l'Université de Stanford (Californie, É-U) accepte des demandes pour la bourse annuelle offerte aux chercheurs qui voudraient utiliser le Fonds Gustave Gimon de l'économie politique française pour avancer leurs projets de recherche. La bibliothèque décernera une bourse par année pour subventionner une visite de 2 à 4 semaines à Stanford. Ce programme est subventionné par un don de la Flora Family Foundation. Cette bourse, au montant de $3000-$5000 selon la durée de la visite, couvrira les frais associés avec le voyage de recherche: le transport, l'hébergement, les repas, et les photocopies. Tous les frais au-delà de la subvention seront assumés par le chercheur.

Cette année, les demandes de bourse doivent être déposées avant le 15 avril, 2014. La bourse doit être utilisée pendant l'année académique suivante, entre septembre 2014 et août 2015. Il est préférable que le chercheur effectue son voyage de recherche entre octobre et mai, pour faciliter les rencontres avec les professeurs et les étudiants.

Toute personne menant un projet de recherche de haut niveau sur un sujet de l'économie politique française peut postuler pour cette subvention, y compris des candidats au doctorat. Les critères de sélection sont : l'importance du fonds Gustave Gimon au projet de recherche du candidat, la contribution de cette recherche à notre connaissance de l'économie politique française, et autres qualifications du candidat. Cette année, nous donnons priorité aux projets qui incorporent les périodiques socialistes du dix-neuvième siècle dans la collection Gimon. Nous encourageons les candidats potentiels de contacter Sarah Sussman, Conservatrice du fonds français à Stanford, avec leurs questions.

Il n'y a pas de formulaire de candidature à la bourse. Les chercheurs concernés sont invités à nous envoyer une proposition de 1000 mots maximum qui explique pourquoi et comment les matières du Fonds Gustave Gimon sont essentielles à leur projet de recherche, 2 lettres de recommandation par des chercheurs dans le domaine, et un curriculum vitae (CV).

Envoyez toute correspondance à

Sarah Sussman, Curator French and Italian Collections 
Re: Gimon Collection Visiting Scholar Fellowship 
Green Library, Room 320A 
Stanford University Libraries 
Stanford , CA 94305 , USA 


ou par courriel à ssussman@stanford.edu 

Pour renseignements supplémentaires, contactez: 
Sarah Sussman 
ssussman@stanford.edu 
tél : +1 650 723 9481

Bibliographie de la Collection Gustave Gimon. Ici vous trouverez une bibliography pour la collection. Pour d'autres matériaux sur l'économie politique française dans la Stanford University Libraries, vous pouvez faire une recherche dans le catalogue de la bibliothèque.