Italian History

This guide contains materials for conducting research in Italian history.

Italian History Databases

Stanford University Library provides the community with a variety of online databases to facilitate research.  If you are interested in searching multiple databases in Italian history simultaneously, consult Xsearch.  Please note that the Torossa database is not searchable through Xsearch. 

  1. ETH BIbliothek. 2016

    "E-Periodica is ETH-Bibliothek's platform for digitised Swiss journals. The earliest journals on E-Periodica date back to the early 18th ...

  2. The catalog presents all of the works from the music publisher, Ricordi, in numerical order, which is roughly chronological and describes...

  3. Rich in primary source content from world-class libraries and archives, The First World War: Propaganda and Recruitment provides an essen...

  4. a collaboration of the Stanford University Libraries and the Bibliothèque nationale de France. 2013

    "A multi-year collaboration of the Stanford University Libraries and the Bibliothèque nationale de France (BnF) to produce a digital vers...

  5. édité par Claude Blum. 2012

    Contains all the different editions of the works of Montaigne from the 16th and 17th centuries, published from the manuscripts and the pr...

  6. A multi-year global digitization and publishing program focusing on primary source collections of the nineteenth century; will be compri...

  7. BrepolsOnline is the platform for all online content published by Brepols in books and journals, across a broad range of humanities disci...

New Books in Italian History

DG is the subject call number for Italian history.

Recent acquisitions

Important source works for Italian History