William Saroyan International Prize for Writing

The Stanford University Libraries and the William Saroyan Foundation jointly award the William Saroyan International Prize for Writing, a biennial competition for newly-published books.

The prize commemorates the life, legacy and intentions of William Saroyan - author, artist, dramatist, composer - and is intended to encourage new or emerging writers, rather than to recognize established literary figures.

The entry period for the 2018 Saroyan Prize closed on January 31, 2018. The winners will be announced in late summer. We will begin accepting submissions for the 2020 Prize (for books published in 2018 and 2019) in the fall of 2018.

2016 winners

Welcome to Braggsville
First edition.
Green Library » Stacks » PS3610 .O38339 W45 2015
Belief Is Its Own Kind of Truth, Maybe
Green Library » Stacks » HV874.82 .J35 A3 2015

2016 finalists

Now We Will Be Happy
Green Library » Stacks » PS3607 .A976 N69 2014
First edition.
Green Library » Stacks » PS3561 .E3717 A6 2015
Russian Tattoo
First Simon & Schuster hardcover edition.
Green Library » Stacks » E184 .R9 G67 2015
Nagasaki: Life After Nuclear War
Green Library » Stacks » D767.25 .N3 S68 2015