Academia unleashed: contemporary rhetorics of higher education

PWR 1TSC - Spring 2019 - Instructor: Schaeffer, T

This is a guide to resources in support of PWR 1TSC: "In this course, we will explore how individual experiences are understood, represented and negotiated in higher education."

Background information

Use these sources to help you pick a topic and to provide a context to your research based argument.

New York, N.Y. : Agathon Press, c1985-
Education Library (Cubberley) » Stacks » LB2300 .H47 V.34
"Published annually since 1985, the "Handbook" series provides a compendium of thorough and integrative literature reviews on a diverse array of topics of interest to the higher education scholarly and policy communities. Each chapter provides a comprehensive review of research findings on a selected topic, critiques the research literature in terms of its conceptual and methodological rigor, and sets forth an agenda for future research intended to advance knowledge on the chosen topic."
Cover image of The Palgrave handbook of critical thinking in higher education
First edition.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Stacks » LB2395.35 .P35 2015
"explores critical thinking in higher education in all its forms, from definitions to teaching and incorporating it into the curriculum, its relationship to culture and the professions, and its social perspectivers and scientific and cognitive manifestations."

Recent books

Green Library » Jonsson Social Sciences Reading Room: New books » HQ1197 .N37 2019
Education Library (Cubberley) » Stacks » LC2341 .C34 2019

Education news

Databases

[Washington, DC : National Library of Education?, 199?-
Stanford Libraries » Online resource » eResource
Bibliographic database of educational resources including articles, reports, and curriculum.
[Bronx, N.Y.] : H.W. Wilson Co.
Stanford Libraries » Online resource » eResource
Indexes and abstracts articles of English-language periodicals and books on education from 1983 on. Abstracting coverage begins with January 1994. Full-text coverage begins in January 1996 and is available for over half the 600 journals indexed.
accessibilityaccessprivsarrow-circle-rightaskus-chataskus-librarianbarsblogsclosecoffeecomputercomputersulcontactsconversationcopierelectricaloutleteventsexternal-linkfacebook-circlegroupstudyhoursindividualinterlibrarynewsnextoffcampusopenlateoutdoorpeoplepolicypreviousprinterprojectsquietreservesscannersearchstudysupportingtabletourstwitter-circleworking