CHEM-H undergraduate scholars

Contains key resources to support interdisciplinary research by undergraduates in the Stanford ChEM-H Undergraduate Scholars Program.

Databases

Multidisciplinary Resources

Santa Fe, N.M.: Deep Web Technologies
Stanford Libraries » Online resource » eResource
xSearch enables Stanford students and researchers to search multiple resources at one time.  The 350+ resources in xSearch include abstracts and indexes, datasets, full-text ejournal and ebooks, funding opportunities, methods and protocols, patents, streaming media, technical reports, plus more.  A Chemical Safety Search site that includes 70+ resources is also available.
Stanford Libraries » Online resource » eResource
Search over 12,000 core journals across the sciences, social sciences, and arts and humanities to find the high quality research. Move backward/forward in time using cited/citing reference identified by researchers. Updated weekly, includes Science Citation Index Expanded (1899-present), Social Sciences Citation Index (1898-present), Arts & Humanities Citation Index (1975-present), Conference Proceedings Citation Index- Science (1990-present), Conference Proceedings Citation Index- Social Science & Humanities (1990-present), Book Citation Index (2005-present), Index Chemicus (1993-present), and Current Chemical Reactions (1985-present; also includes Institut National de la Propriete Industrielle structure data back to 1840)). (Structure searching)
[New York] : Elsevier, 2004-
Stanford Libraries » Online resource » eResource
"Updated daily, Scopus is the largest abstract and citation database of peer-reviewed literature. It also includes web sources, patents, articles in-press, book series, conference proceedings, and trade publications. Scopus provides international coverage of literature in science, technology, and medicine, and social sciences plus related content in the arts and humanities. 1996-present plus selected coverage back to 1823."

Subject Databases

[New York?] : Thomson Reuters.
Stanford Libraries » Online resource » eResource
Biosis is a comprehensive source for life sciences and biomedical research from nearly 6,000 life sciences journals plus abstracts from meetings, books and patents. Search options include using taxonomy, MeSH, CAS registry numbers, Sequence Databank Numbers, and Major Concepts. Updated weekly, covers 1926--present. Cited reference searching finds more recent works that cite an earlier document of interest
Engineering Village
Hoboken, N.J. : Elsevier Engineering Information, Inc.
Stanford Libraries » Online resource » eResource
Engineering Village is an information discovery platform that includes access to two databases at Stanford. Compendex (Computerized Engineering Index) is the most comprehensive bibliographic database of scientific and technical engineering research available, covering all engineering disciplines. It includes millions of bibliographic citations and abstracts from thousands of engineering journals and conference proceedings. When combined with the Engineering Index Backfile (1884-1969), Compendex covers well over 120 years of core engineering literature.
Bethesda, MD : National Center for Biotechnology Information, [1997]-
Stanford Libraries » Online resource » eResource
"PubMed comprises over 22 million citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books. PubMed citations and abstracts include the fields of biomedicine and health, covering portions of the life sciences, behavioral sciences, chemical sciences, and bioengineering. PubMed also provides access to additional relevant web sites and links to the other NCBI molecular biology resources. PubMed is a free resource that is developed and maintained by the National Center for Biotechnology Information (NCBI), at the U.S. National Library of Medicine (NLM), located at the National Institutes of Health (NIH)."
[Columbus, Ohio : American Chemical Society, Chemical Abstracts Service]
Stanford Libraries » Online resource » eResource
SciFinder is the most comprehensive database for coverage of chemistry & chemical engineering. It has the world's largest collection of organic and inorganic substance information. The web version of SciFinder provides integrated access to CAPlus, CAS Registry, CASREACT, CHEMLIST, and CHEMCATS which are produced by Chemical Abstracts Service, and to MEDLINE which is produced by the U.S. National Library of Medicine. Sources covered in SciFinder include 10,000 journals, patents from 63 patent authorities, book chapters, conference proceedings, dissertations, evaluated reference works, technical reports, as well as book reviews and biographical information. Also includes access to MethodsNow, a curated collection of methods in analytical and synthetic chemistry. (Structure and Reaction Searching)

Books

SearchWorks / xSearch

SearchWorks, the library catalog for the Stanford Libraries includes authors, titles, descriptions, and subjects for books, journals, conference proceedings, theses, etc.  Please choose a database to find journal articles.  Use xSearch for full-text searching of ebooks and journals.

Journals

Palo Alto, Calif. : Annual Reviews, Inc.
Stanford Libraries » Online resource » eResource
Annual Reviews publishes authoritative, analytic reviews in 42 focused disciplines within the Biomedical, Physical, and Social Sciences. Annual Reviews publications are among the most highly cited in scientific literature. Updated continuously, covers 1932-present.
BrowZine
Stanford Libraries » Online resource » eResource
BrowZine lets you browse, read and monitor journals available from the Stanford University Libraries. Access BrowZine from a web browser or from an app on these devices: iPads, iPhones, iPod Touches, Android Tablets and Smartphones, and Kindle Fire HD Tablets. You can browse by subject area, create a personal bookshelf of favorite journals, be alerted when a new issue of a journal is published, and save articles in your personal library.  BrowZine can be synced with Box.com, Mendeley, Zotero, and other services. For more information, please see Use BrowZine page.

Peer review

Is this a peer-reviewed source?

Peer review in 3 minutes (from NCSU)

Peer review

Do we still need peer review?
Lanham : The Scarecrow Press, Inc., 2013.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Stacks » LB2333 .G58 2013
Guardians of science : fairness and reliability of peer review
Weinheim ; New York : VCH, c1993.
SAL3 (off-campus storage) » Stacks » Q180.55 .E9 D36 1993
Peer review and manuscript management in scientific journals : guidelines for good practice
Malden, MA : Blackwell Pub., 2007.
SAL3 (off-campus storage) » Stacks » Q225.5 .H255 2007
U.S. Environmental Protection Agency. Peer Review Handbook
3rd ed. Washington, DC : Science Policy Council, U.S. Environmental Protection Agency, [2006?]
Stanford Libraries » Online resource » eResource

Reference

3rd ed. / Washington, DC : American Chemical Society ; Oxford ; New York : Oxford University Press, 2006.
Earth Sciences Library (Branner) » Stacks » QD8.5 .A25 2006
"An essential constant in this changing environment is the requirement that information remain accurate, clear, unambiguous, and ethically sound. The ACS Style Guide is the definitive source for all information needed to write, review, submit, and edit scholarly and scientific manuscripts. It is also an excellent resource for learning how to effectively communicate scientific information." (publisher's description)

Dictionaries

Premium collection Oxford ; New York, N.Y.: Oxford University Press, c2002-
Stanford Libraries » Online resource » eResource
Oxford Reference Online brings together language and subject reference works from one of the world's biggest and most trusted reference publishers into a single cross-searchable resource. The Premium Collection offers a huge range of fully-indexed, extensively linked, up to date, and cross-searchable dictionary, language reference, and subject reference works published by Oxford University Press.

Encyclopedias

[United States] : McGraw-Hill, [2000?]-
Stanford Libraries » Online resource » eResource
AccessScience gathers and synthesizes vast amounts of information, and organizes it to give you fast, easy and accurate access to authoritative articles in all major areas of science and technology.  The McGraw-Hill Dictionary of scientific & technical terms, 5th ed, is integrated into AccessScience.
[S.l.] : Wiley, c1999-
Stanford Libraries » Online resource » eResource
Spanning the entire spectrum of the life sciences, ELS is a monthly-updating reference work containing over 4,500 specially commissioned and peer-reviewed articles written by leaders in the field. ELS has articles on these subject areas: Biochemistry, Cell Biology, Developmental Biology, Ecology, Evolution and Diversity of Life, Genetics and Disease, Genetics and Molecular Biology, Immunology, Microbiology, Neuroscience, Plant Science, Science and Society, Structural Biology, and Virology.
7th ed. Weinheim, Germany : Wiley-VCH ; New York : J. Wiley & Sons, 2009-
Stanford Libraries » Online resource » eResource
"This state-of-the-art reference work details the science and technology in all areas of industrial chemistry. Subject areas include: inorganic and organic chemicals, advanced materials, pharmaceuticals, polymers and plastics, metals and alloys, biotechnology and biotechnological products, food chemistry, process engineering and unit operations, analytical methods, environmental protection, etc."

Writing resources

Grant proposals

Guide to effective grant writing
2nd ed. New York ; London : Springer, 2012.
Stanford Libraries » Online resource » eResource
Procuring grant funding is the central key to survival for any academic researcher in the biological sciences; thus, being able to write a proposal that effectively illustrates one's ideas is essential. Covering all aspects of the proposal process, from the most basic questions about form and style to the task of seeking funding, this volume offers clear advice backed up with excellent examples. (publisher's description)
Covers all the areas of scientific communication that a scientist needs to know and master in order to successfully promote his or her research and career. This unique "all-in-one" handbook begins with a discussion of the basic principles of scientific writing style and composition and then applies these principles to writing research papers, review articles, grant proposals, research statements, and resumes, as well as to preparing academic presentations and posters. (publisher's description)
Writing successful science proposals
2nd ed. New Haven : Yale University Press, 2009.
Marine Biology Library (Miller) » Stacks » Q180.55 .P7 F75 2009
A guide to science proposal writing. Suitable for scientists embarking on a thesis or grant application, it explains steps of the proposal process in detail. It includes chapters on private foundation funding and interdisciplinary research. (publisher's description)
accessibilityaccessprivsarrow-circle-rightaskus-chataskus-librarianbarsblogsclosecoffeecomputercomputersulcontactsconversationcopierelectricaloutleteventsexternal-linkfacebook-circlegroupstudyhoursindividualinterlibrarynewsnextoffcampusopenlateoutdoorpeoplepolicypreviousprinterprojectsquietreservesscannersearchstudysupportingtabletourstwitter-circleworking