Chemistry resources for students

Resources for undergraduate students in chemistry.

Databases

[Columbus, Ohio : American Chemical Society, Chemical Abstracts Service]
Stanford Libraries » Online resource » eResource
SciFinder is the most comprehensive database for coverage of chemistry & chemical engineering. It has the world's largest collection of organic and inorganic substance information. The web version of SciFinder provides integrated access to CAPlus, CAS Registry, CASREACT, CHEMLIST, and CHEMCATS which are produced by Chemical Abstracts Service, and to MEDLINE which is produced by the U.S. National Library of Medicine. Sources covered in SciFinder include 10,000 journals, patents from 63 patent authorities, book chapters, conference proceedings, dissertations, evaluated reference works, technical reports, as well as book reviews and biographical information. Also includes access to MethodsNow, a curated collection of methods in analytical and synthetic chemistry. (Structure and Reaction Searching)
[Frankfurt, Germany ; New York, NY] : Elsevier
Stanford Libraries » Online resource » eResource
Available via the web, Reaxys Xcelerate contains an extensive repository of experimentally validated data that chemists need including structures, reactions (including multi-step reactions) and physical properties. Reaxys was formed by the merger of three databases: Beilstein Handbook of Organic Chemistry, Gmelin Handbook of Inorganic and Organometallic Chemistry, and the Chemistry Patent database. (Structure and Reaction Searching)
Stanford Libraries » Online resource » eResource
Search over 12,000 core journals across the sciences, social sciences, and arts and humanities to find the high quality research. Move backward/forward in time using cited/citing reference identified by researchers. Updated weekly, includes Science Citation Index Expanded (1899-present), Social Sciences Citation Index (1898-present), Arts & Humanities Citation Index (1975-present), Conference Proceedings Citation Index- Science (1990-present), Conference Proceedings Citation Index- Social Science & Humanities (1990-present), Book Citation Index (2005-present), Index Chemicus (1993-present), and Current Chemical Reactions (1985-present; also includes Institut National de la Propriete Industrielle structure data back to 1840)). (Structure searching)
Santa Fe, N.M.: Deep Web Technologies
Stanford Libraries » Online resource » eResource
xSearch enables Stanford students and researchers to search multiple resources at one time.  The 350+ resources in xSearch include abstracts and indexes, datasets, full-text ejournal and ebooks, funding opportunities, methods and protocols, patents, streaming media, technical reports, plus more.  A Chemical Safety Search site that includes 70+ resources is also available.

Books

SearchWorks

SearchWorks, the library catalog for the Stanford Libraries includes authors, titles, descriptions, and subjects for books, journals, conference proceedings, theses, etc.  Please choose a database to find journal articles.  Use xSearch for full-text searching of ebooks and journal articles. 

NEW: Use Articles+ to find articles. 

Journals

BrowZine
Stanford Libraries » Online resource » eResource
BrowZine lets you browse, read and monitor journals available from the Stanford University Libraries. Access BrowZine from a web browser or from an app on these devices: iPads, iPhones, iPod Touches, Android Tablets and Smartphones, and Kindle Fire HD Tablets. You can browse by subject area, create a personal bookshelf of favorite journals, be alerted when a new issue of a journal is published, and save articles in your personal library.  BrowZine can be synced with Box.com, Mendeley, Zotero, and other services. For more information, please see Use BrowZine page.

Accounts of Chemical Research

   

Sorry, there was an error with the RSS feed.

Journal of Chemical Health and Safety

     

Sorry, there was an error with the RSS feed.

Nature Chemistry

  

Sorry, there was an error with the RSS feed.

Encyclopedias

7th ed. Weinheim, Germany : Wiley-VCH ; New York : J. Wiley & Sons, 2009-
Stanford Libraries » Online resource » eResource
"This state-of-the-art reference work details the science and technology in all areas of industrial chemistry. Subject areas include: inorganic and organic chemicals, advanced materials, pharmaceuticals, polymers and plastics, metals and alloys, biotechnology and biotechnological products, food chemistry, process engineering and unit operations, analytical methods, environmental protection, etc."
[United States] : McGraw-Hill, [2000?]-
Stanford Libraries » Online resource » eResource
AccessScience gathers and synthesizes vast amounts of information, and organizes it to give you fast, easy and accurate access to authoritative articles in all major areas of science and technology.  The McGraw-Hill Dictionary of scientific & technical terms, 5th ed, is integrated into AccessScience.
[S.l.] : Wiley, c1999-
Stanford Libraries » Online resource » eResource
Spanning the entire spectrum of the life sciences, ELS is a monthly-updating reference work containing over 4,500 specially commissioned and peer-reviewed articles written by leaders in the field. ELS has articles on these subject areas: Biochemistry, Cell Biology, Developmental Biology, Ecology, Evolution and Diversity of Life, Genetics and Disease, Genetics and Molecular Biology, Immunology, Microbiology, Neuroscience, Plant Science, Science and Society, Structural Biology, and Virology.
3rd ed. San Diego : Academic Press, c2002.
SAL3 (off-campus storage) » Stacks » Q121 .E497 2002 V.1
"Although the World Wide Web is a mighty river of information and data, there was still a great need for our articles, which comprehensively explain, integrate, and provide scientific and mathematical background and perspective.  Over 1000 authors prepared the manuscripts at an average length of 17-18 pages. The manuscripts were peer reviewed, indexed, and published. The result is the eighteen volume work, of over 14,000 pages, comprising the Third Edition.
Van Nostrand's Encyclopedia of Chemistry
5th ed. / Hoboken, N.J. : Wiley-Interscience, c2005.
SAL3 (off-campus storage) » Stacks » QD4 .V36 2005
Scientists, engineers, and technologists in many fields need a knowledge of chemistry because of the importance of chemistry in diverse technologies. In addition, to "classical" topics of chemistry, the new Encyclopedia covers nanotechnology, fuel cell technology, green chemistry, forensic chemistry, supramolecular chemistry, combinatorial chemistry, materials chemistry, and proteomics. This fifth print edition has been revised and updated, and includes over 200 new articles, as well as 1,300 updated articles.

Handbooks

Boca Raton, FL : Chapman & Hall/CRC Press
Stanford Libraries » Online resource » eResource
Includes descriptive and numerical data on the chemical, physical and biological properties of compounds; systematic and common names of compounds; literature references; structure diagrams and their associated connection tables. CCD online includes: organic compounds (269,000 records); natural products (178,000 records); inorganic and organometallic compounds (103,000 records); drugs (44,000 records); analytical reagents (14,000 records); and carbohydrates (24,000). (Structure searching)
Cleveland, Ohio, CRC Press.
Green Library » Information Center: Reference » QD65 .H3 ED.99 2018/2019
Continues to be the most accurate, reliable and current resource available on data needed by chemists, physicists and engineers. It provides wide coverage of data on properties of inorganic and organic compounds. Now searchable by chemical structure. Note: Appendix B contains sources of physical and chemical data.
[Norwich, N.Y.] : Knovel, 2003-
Stanford Libraries » Online resource » eResource
Knovel provides access to over 2,000 leading reference works and databases from over 50 international publishers and professional societies through a single interface. Includes the ability to search numeric data.  Some books have interactive tables.
Rahway, N.J. : Merck & Co., 1968-
Green Library » Information Center: Reference » RS356 .M524 2001
The Merck Index contains over 10,000 monographs with information relating to compounds of significance in research, commerce and environmental impact.  Each monograph in this authoritative reference source is a concise description of a single substance or a small group of closely related compounds. There is also a supplement of Organic Name Reactions.

Reference

3rd ed. / Washington, DC : American Chemical Society ; Oxford ; New York : Oxford University Press, 2006.
Earth Sciences Library (Branner) » Stacks » QD8.5 .A25 2006
"An essential constant in this changing environment is the requirement that information remain accurate, clear, unambiguous, and ethically sound. The ACS Style Guide is the definitive source for all information needed to write, review, submit, and edit scholarly and scientific manuscripts. It is also an excellent resource for learning how to effectively communicate scientific information." (publisher's description)
Premium collection Oxford ; New York, N.Y.: Oxford University Press, c2002-
Stanford Libraries » Online resource » eResource
Oxford Reference Online brings together language and subject reference works from one of the world's biggest and most trusted reference publishers into a single cross-searchable resource. The Premium Collection offers a huge range of fully-indexed, extensively linked, up to date, and cross-searchable dictionary, language reference, and subject reference works published by Oxford University Press.

* Analytical Chemistry

Encyclopedias and major reference works

Amsterdam ; Burlington, Mass. : Elsevier, c2012.
Stanford Libraries » Online resource » eResource
In its four volumes, this major reference work contains a complete treatment of the theory and methodology of sampling in all physical phases and the theory of sample preparation for all major extraction techniques. Fundamentals of sampling and sample preparation are reinforced through comprehensive sections dealing with Biological and Medical, Environmental and Forensic, and Food and Beverage applications.
[Hoboken, N.J.?] : John Wiley & Sons.
Stanford Libraries » Online resource » eResource
The Encyclopedia is the most comprehensive analytical chemistry reference available, covering all aspects from theory and instrumentation through to applications and techniques. The chemistry and techniques are described as performed in the laboratory, in the field, or by remote sensing. The level of detail is similar to that of a laboratory protocol and, together with the cited references, will support the analysis of complex inorganic, organic and biological structures by researchers.

Databases

[London] : Royal Society of Chemistry
Stanford Libraries » Online resource » eResource
"Items in Analytical Abstracts fall into three main categories: Journal articles, technical reports, and books. More than 250 key international journals are scanned regularly by the Analytical Abstracts editorial team. Over 75% of the original material is published in English, with other major languages being French and German, Russian and other eastern European languages, Chinese, and Japanese." Updated monthly. Covers 1980-present.

Handbooks

2nd ed. / New York : McGraw-Hill, c2004.
SAL3 (off-campus storage) » Stacks » QD78 .P37 2004
This essential resource for the analytical chemist has been revised and updated with 40 percent new material. Readers will find all the conventional wet and instrumental techniques in one exhaustive reference along with all the critical data needed to apply them. Worked examples, troubleshooting tips, and numerous tables and charts are provided for easy access to the data.
Arlington, Va. : AOAC International, 1995-
SAL3 (off-campus storage) » Stacks » S587 .A7 ED.17:V.2 2000
A standard resource for internationally validated and standardized analytical methods for over 100 years. The 18th edition contains over 3,000 methods, divided into more than 50 categories. Each method gives procedural directions for the specific analysis and at least one bibliographic reference. Cross-references to other related procedures are also included, when applicable.

* Biochemistry

Encyclopedias and major reference works

Encyclopedia of Biological Chemistry 2nd Edition
Second edition.
Stanford Libraries » Online resource » eResource
Representing the current state of a dynamic and crucial field of study, the 2nd edition of this encyclopedia pulls together over 500 articles that help define and explore contemporary biochemistry.  It acknowledges that understanding every living process-from physiology, to immunology, and genetics is impossible without a grasp on the basic chemistry that provides its underpinning.  Written by experts, each article provides an up-to-date snapshot of a given topic, as well as suggestions for further readings for students and researchers wishing to go into greater depth. 
[S.l.] : Wiley, c1999-
Stanford Libraries » Online resource » eResource
Spanning the entire spectrum of the life sciences, ELS is a monthly-updating reference work containing over 4,500 specially commissioned and peer-reviewed articles written by leaders in the field. ELS has articles on these subject areas: Biochemistry, Cell Biology, Developmental Biology, Ecology, Evolution and Diversity of Life, Genetics and Disease, Genetics and Molecular Biology, Immunology, Microbiology, Neuroscience, Plant Science, Science and Society, Structural Biology, and Virology.
Hoboken, N.J. : John Wiley & Sons, c2009.
Science Library (Li and Ma) » Reference » QP512 .W48 2009 V.1
"This encyclopedia illuminates the crucial role of chemistry and chemical techniques in the life sciences. WECB is an evolving online database of information, combining the most useful features of traditional reference works and review journals in a compelling format designed to exploit the full potential of the online medium. Includes extensive linking to the primary literature and to other online resources." (publisher's description)

Handbooks

Rahway, N.J. : Merck & Co., 1968-
Green Library » Information Center: Reference » RS356 .M524 2001
The Merck Index contains over 10,000 monographs with information relating to compounds of significance in research, commerce and environmental impact.  Each monograph in this authoritative reference source is a concise description of a single substance or a small group of closely related compounds. There is also a supplement of Organic Name Reactions.

Color atlases from Thieme

  1. Heinrich Lanfermann, Peter Raab, Hans-Joachim Kretschmann, Wolfgang Weinrich. 2019

  2. editor, Andreas Raabe ; associate editors, Bernhard Meyer, Karl Schaller, Peter Vajkoczy, Peter A. Winkler. 2019

  3. Hildegard Wittlinger, Dieter Wittlinger, Andreas Wittlinger, Maria Wittlinger. 2019

  4. edited by Eric W. Baker, Johanna Warshaw based on the work of Michael Schuenke, Erik Schulte, Udo Schumacher ; illustrations by Markus Voll, Karl Wesker. 2018

* Catalysis

Encyclopedias and major reference works

[Hoboken, N.J.] : Wiley-Interscience
Stanford Libraries » Online resource » eResource
The Encyclopedia of Catalysis is a definitive A-to-Z reference work covering the most significant aspects of homogeneous, heterogeneous, asymmetric, biomimetic, and biological catalysis. The principles of catalysis, the scope of catalytic reactions, the preparation, characterization, and use of catalysts including catalytic technology, the modeling of catalytic processes, and related reaction engineering techniques are included.

Handbooks

2nd, completely rev. and enl. ed. Weinheim : [Great Britain] : Wiley-VCH, 2002.
Science Library (Li and Ma) » Stacks » QD505 .A67 2002 V.1
Homogeneous catalysis is the success story of organometallic chemistry. Bulk and fine chemicals, and even natural products are being produced via homogeneous organometallic catalysis. This handbook contains both basic research and industrial applications. It also has both state-of-the-art and concise treatment of important catalytic reactions and processes.
Handbook of green chemistry
[Place of publication not identified] : John Wiley and Sons, 2010-
Stanford Libraries » Online resource » eResource
This handbook is a one-stop resource covering green catalysis, green solvents, green processes, and green products. [Set I: Green catalysis] v. 1. Homogeneous catalysis; v. 2. Heterogeneous catalysis; v. 3. Biocatalysis   [Set II: Green solvents]  v. 4. Supercritical solvents; v. 5. Reactions in water; v. 6. Ionic liquids   [Set III: Green processes] v. 7. Green synthesis; v. 8. Bioinspired processes; v. 9. Designing safer chemicals   [Set IV: Green products] v. 10. Green engineering; v. 11. Green nanoscience; v. 12. Sustainable product design.
2nd, completely rev. and enl. ed. Weinheim : Wiley-VCH ; [Chichester : John Wiley, distributor], c2008.
Stanford Libraries » Online resource » eResource
This 8 volume handbook provides easily searchable yet comprehensive information. Major topics include: Preparation of Solid Catalysts, Characterization of Solid Catalysts, Model Systems, Elementary Steps and Mechanisms, Kinetics and Transport Processes, Deactivation and Regeneration, Special Catalytic Systems, Laboratory Reactors, Reaction Engineering, Environmental Catalysis, Inorganic Reactions, Energy-related Catalysis, and Organic Reactions.

*Food Chemistry

Reference books on food chemistry / science

Dictionary of Food Compounds
Boca Raton : Chapman & Hall/CRC : Taylor & Francis, ©2008-
Stanford Libraries » Online resource » eResource
"Comprehensive information on compounds found in food, including additives, flavors, natural food constituents, contaminants and nutraceuticals.  It contains entries describing natural components of food raw materials and products as well as compounds added to foods or formed in the course of storage or processing. Each entry contains the name of the component, the chemical and physical characteristics, a description of functional properties related to food use, and nutritional and toxicological data."

"Encyclopedia of Food Chemistry is the ideal primer for food scientists, researchers, students and young professionals who want to acquaint themselves with food chemistry. Well-organized, clearly written, and abundantly referenced, the book provides a foundation for readers to understand the principles, concepts, and techniques used in food chemistry applications. Articles are written by international experts and cover a wide range of topics, including food chemistry, food components and their interactions, properties (flavor, aroma, texture) the structure of food, functional foods, processing, storage, nanoparticles for food use, antioxidants, the Maillard and Strecker reactions, process derived contaminants, and the detection of economically-motivated food adulteration. The encyclopedia will provide readers with an introduction to specific topics within the wider context of food chemistry, as well as helping them identify the links between the various sub-topics."--ScienceDirect website.
"This Encyclopedia is a definitive resource for what to eat for maximum health as detailed by medical and nutritional experts. Making the connection between health, disease, and the food we eat, it describes more than 140 foods, providing information on their history, nutrient content, and medical uses. It details healthy eating guidelines based on the RDA food pyramid; and, provides scientific basis and knowledge for specific recommendations. Beautifully illustrated, it features an extensive list of reliable nutrition resources. It describes the "fit kitchen" from the latest in food safety to equipment and utensils for preparing fit foods to ways to modify favorite recipes to ensure health and taste."

More handbooks on food science

  1. edited by Romain Jeantet...[et al.].. 2016

  2. edited by Romain Jeantet...[et al.].. 2016

  3. edited by Romain Jeantet [and others].. 2016

  4. George D. Saravacos, Athanasios E. Kostaropoulos. 2016

  5. Christopher G. J. Baker, editor. 2013

* Inorganic Chemistry

Encyclopedias and major reference works

[Place of publication not identified] : Wiley.
Stanford Libraries » Online resource » eResource
Updated quarterly, the Encyclopedia of Inorganic and Bioinorganic Chemistry is the result of a merger of the Encyclopedia of Inorganic Chemistry and the Handbook of Metalloproteins. Information is grouped specifically for each major element; by its relations within the periodic table such as electronic structure or coordination chemistry; by detailed descriptions of singular compounds or by the applications or methods of the inorganic or bioinorganic material.
Deerfield Beach, Fla. : VCH Publishers, c1986-
SAL3 (off-campus storage) » Stacks » QD501 .I623 1986 INDEX:PT.1
Rather than producing a collection of unrelated review articles, this series creates a framework that reflects the creative potential of this scientific discipline. In a clear, concise, and highly organized manner, it provides an in-depth treatment of bond formation reactions categorized by element type. The series covers all areas of inorganic chemistry including chemistry of the elements, coordination compounds, donor-acceptor adducts, organometallic, polymer and solid-state material, and compounds relevant to bioinorganic chemistry. A unique index system provides users with several fast options for accessing information on forming any bond type, compound, or reaction.
New York [etc.] Wiley [etc.] 1939-
SAL3 (off-campus storage) » Stacks » QD156 .I56 V.30 1995
This series provides detailed foolproof information needed by lab chemists on procedures for the preparation of important and timely inorganic compounds. With recent volumes covering the latest hot topics and developing areas such as organometallic chemistry, main group chemistry and ligands, co-ordination chemistry and applications in material science, this series is also of use to organic and organometallic chemists, biochemists and materials scientists.

Handbooks

Boca Raton, FL : Chapman & Hall/CRC Press
Stanford Libraries » Online resource » eResource
Includes descriptive and numerical data on the chemical, physical and biological properties of compounds; systematic and common names of compounds; literature references; structure diagrams and their associated connection tables. CCD online includes: organic compounds (269,000 records); natural products (178,000 records); inorganic and organometallic compounds (103,000 records); drugs (44,000 records); analytical reagents (14,000 records); and carbohydrates (24,000). (Structure searching)
Handbook of Inorganic Compounds
2nd ed. Boca Raton, FL : CRC Press, c2011.
Science Library (Li and Ma) » Stacks » QD155.5 .H36 2011
This updated edition of the Handbook of Inorganic Compounds is the perfect reference for anyone that needs property data for compounds, CASRN numbers for computer or other searches, a consistent tabulation of molecular weights to synthesize inorganic materials on a laboratory scale, or data related to physical and chemical properties. Fully revised, the second edition includes new data on inorganic optical materials, radiation detection inorganics, thermochromic compounds, piezochromic compounds, catalysts, superconductors, and luminescent (fluorescent and phosphorescent) inorganics.
Blah blah blah
Eggenstein-Leopoldshafen : FIZ Karlsruhe.
Stanford Libraries » Online resource » eResource
"ICSD (Inorganic Crystal Structure Database) is the world's largest comprehensive database on the complete structural information for crystalline inorganic compounds. The data are carefully evaluated from relevant scientific literature. Besides the bibliographic information each dataset contains compound name, molecular formula, as well as space group, unit cell parameters, atomic coordinates and temperature factors."

* Organic Chemistry

Encyclopedias and major reference works

New York : John Wiley & Sons, Inc., 1921-
Marine Biology Library (Miller) » Stacks » QD262 .O7 V.52
"Organic Syntheses describes checked and edited experimental procedures, spanning a broad range of synthetic methodologies, and provides chemists with a compendium of new or little known experimental procedures which lead to useful compounds or that illustrate important new developments in methodology. For every procedure, safety warnings are presented along with detailed descriptions for the preparation, purification, and identification of the compound in question. Additionally, special reaction conditions are detailed, along with the source of reagents, helpful waste disposal guidelines, discussions of results, references to the primary literature, and an appendix of nomenclature and registry numbers. The print version was published in Annual volumes and Collective Volumes. Online access covers, Vol. 1, 1921-present." (Structure Searching)
Organic Reactions (online version)
New York : John Wiley & Sons, 1942-
Marine Biology Library (Miller) » Stacks » QD251 .O7 V.16
"Uniquely focuses on 200,000+ of the most important and useful synthetic reactions. Organic Reactions is a comprehensive collection of important synthetic reactions, together with a critical discussion of the reaction and tables that organize all published examples of the topic reactions. Chapters that focus on reactions of current interest are solicited by the board of editors from leading chemists worldwide. The publication process entails a comprehensive peer-review process, ensuring the high quality and attention to detail for which this series is noted. Comprehensive coverage of all examples of a given reaction is provided in tabular form. In addition to providing reaction scope, stereochemical aspects, and side reactions, a selection of representative experimental conditions are given. Online access covers Vol. 25, 1977-present. Also see: Organic Reactions Wiki to view pre-production chapters and condensed versions of published articles."

Handbooks

Boca Raton, FL : Chapman & Hall/CRC Press
Stanford Libraries » Online resource » eResource
"CHEMnetBASE is a collection of 11 chemistry databases. One-stop searching allows users to perform searches on chemical terms on chemical structures simultaneously across all databases within CHEMnetBASE except for Polymers: A Properties Database. It is also possible to search individual resources within CHEMnetBASE."  The 11 databases are: CRC handbook of chemistry and physics, Combined Chemical Dictionary, Dictionary of commonly cited compounds, Dictionary of drugs, Dictionary of food compounds, Dictionary of inorganic & organometallic compounds, Dictionary of marine natural products, Dictionary of natural products, Dictionary of organic compounds, Polymers : a property database, and Properties of organic compounds.

 
Japan : AIST
Stanford Libraries » Online resource » eResource
SDBS includes 6 different types of spectra under a directory of the compounds. The six spectra are as follows, an electron impact Mass spectrum (EI-MS), a Fourier transform infrared spectrum (FT-IR), a 1H nuclear magnetic resonance (NMR) spectrum, a 13C NMR spectrum, a laser Raman spectrum, and an electron spin resonance (ESR) spectrum. It is possible to search by compound name, molecular formula, molecular weight, CAS Registry Number, number of atoms, and spectral peaks.

Advanced Organic Chemistry Resources

Stuttgart ; New York : Thieme.
Stanford Libraries » Online resource » eResource
"Science of Synthesis (SoS) provides a critical review of synthetic methodology developed to-date in the fields of organic and organometallic chemistry. Features include: Selection of molecular transformations by world-renowned experts with elaboration on scope and limitations; Full-text descriptions of synthetic methods with practical experimental procedures immediately applicable in the lab; Community of over 1,000 experts involved in the review and updating of methods; Logical organization of the synthetic methods for each functional group; and Intuitive search functions to allow rapid lead generation and route optimization."  Please see Science of Synthesis at Stanford to view online help, learn more about content, and see what's new. (Structure and Reaction Searching)
[New York] : John Wiley & Sons, c2001-
Stanford Libraries » Online resource » eResource
"This on-line work utilizes the full potential of the web by allowing alphanumeric searches through e-EROS and across all Wiley products, and by allowing chemical structure, substructure and reaction searching straight from a chemist's desktop. It contains a database of around 70,000 reactions and around 4000 of the most frequently consulted reagents and is fully searchable by structure and substructure, reagent, reaction type, experimental conditions etc. and allows sophisticated full text searches. e-EROS offers a systematic and exhaustive coverage of reagents used in organic synthesis. The Editorial Board are keeping e-EROS up-to-date by regularly adding new reagents and catalysts, and by updating existing articles whenever felt necessary. The A to Z listing covers classical reagents, new "designer" reagents and catalysts." (Structure Searching)
Green'e's Protective Groups in Organic Synthesis
Fifth edition /
Stanford Libraries » Online resource » eResource
"An indispensable reference for any practicing synthetic organic or medicinal chemist, this book continues the tradition of Greene's as comprehensive in the overall scope of coverage, providing the most relevant and useful examples to illustrate each methodology.  It presents valuable material, on the application of protective groups in organic chemistry, that is not easily found by casual searching.  It also helps chemists to plan, investigate, and carry out organic syntheses in an efficient manner." (publisher's description)
Hoboken, N.J. : John Wiley, c2009.
Stanford Libraries » Online resource » eResource
"With its coverage of 701 organic name reactions and reagents, this online reference is the largest, most up-to-date work of its kind. It offers students and professional chemists a valuable resource for conducting experiments and performing a broad range of applications, from pharmaceuticals to plastics to pesticides. Each reaction listing is clearly organized into uniform sections that allow readers to quickly gather the information they need to conduct their own experimental procedures."
Stanford Libraries » Online resource » eResource
CSD-Enterprise includes everything in the CSD-System, CSD-Discovery and CSD-Materials, software and application data for the Cambridge Structural Database (CSD), the world’s only comprehensive, up-to-date, and fully-curated knowledge base of small molecule crystal structures.  Stanford also has a license to the web version of CSD which is updated weekly. (Structure Searching)

* Physical Chemistry

Encyclopedias and major reference works

3rd ed. Boca Raton, FL : CRC Press/Taylor & Francis, ©2009.
Science Library (Li and Ma) » Reference » QA5 .W45 2009 V.1
A compendium of mathematical definitions, formulas, figures, tabulations, and references, its informal style makes it accessible to a broad spectrum of readers with a diverse range of mathematical backgrounds and interests. It offers concise, readable definitions; weaves mathematical connections through the physical sciences; supplies bibliographies following each entry; profiles a multidisciplinary approach regarding the use of mathematics; provides 110,000 cross-references to other topics and sources; and contains more 3,000 illustrations, equations, figures, derivations, and graphics.
Swain - Encyclopedia of Chemical Physics
Bristol ; Philadelphia : Institute of Physics Pub., c2001.
Science Library (Li and Ma) » Reference » QD451 .E53 2001 V.1
This encyclopedia quickly provides the basics, defines the scope of each subdiscipline, and indicates where to go for a more complete and detailed explanation. Content is grouped into three sections: fundamentals, methods, and applications.
Weinheim : Cambridge : Wiley-VCH, 2002-
Science Library (Li and Ma) » Stacks » QD553 .E53 2002
This 11 volume work includes: Fundamentals in electrochemistry, Instrumentation, Electroanalytical chemistry, Corrosion and oxide films, Electrochemical engineering, Semiconductor electrodes / Electrodes and modified electrodes, Photoelectrochemistry, and organic electrochemistry/Bioelectrochemistry.
Expanded online ed. New York : Wiley InterScience.
Stanford Libraries » Online resource » eResource
Since the original publication of this encyclopedia in 1996, the area of magnetic resonance has seen extensive developments and now encompasses a whole range of techniques, NMR, MRI, ESR / EPR, NQR and MSR. This expanded online edition covers all the essential information about the theory, applications and history of magnetic resonance.
San Diego, CA : Academic Press, c2000.
SAL3 (off-campus storage) » Stacks » QD95 .E55 2000 V.1
Short articles, each covering one aspect of spectroscopy, provide the professional spectroscopist working in academia or industry with the essential facts and background on areas of spectroscopy peripheral to their own. References at the end of each article directs the reader to the level of detail required for professional purposes.

Handbooks

Tables of physical and Chemical Constants
16th ed. Essex, England ; New York : Longman Scientific & Technical, c1995.
Science Library (Li and Ma) » Reference » QC61 .K3 1995
The 16th edition (published 1995) is crammed full of tables of data, formulae, graphs and charts. This information span topics from fundamental constants to fibre optics, superconductivity to Raman spectroscopy and many others. The contents will be regularly reviewed and updated to reflect advances and developments in the fields of physics and chemistry.
Handbook of Electrochemistry
1st ed. Amsterdam ; Boston : Elsevier, 2007.
Stanford Libraries » Online resource » eResource
This handbook serves as a source of electrochemical information, providing details of experimental considerations, representative calculations, and illustrations of the possibilities available in electrochemical experimentation. The book is divided into five parts: Fundamentals, Laboratory Practical, Techniques, Applications, and Data.
Physical Chemists Toolbox
Hoboken, N.J. : Wiley, 2012.
Stanford Libraries » Online resource » eResource
Covering the basic concepts and working tools in the physical sciences, this reference is a unique, indispensable guide for students and researchers in chemistry, physics, and related disciplines. Everyone from novices to experienced researchers can turn to this book to find the essential equations, theories, and working tools needed to conduct and interpret contemporary research. Readers gain access to not only the core concepts of the physical sciences, but also the underlying mathematics. Among the topics addressed are mechanics, special relativity, electricity and magnetism, quantum chemistry, thermodynamics, electrochemistry, symmetry, solid state physics, and electronics. The book also addresses energy and electrical sources, detectors, and algorithms. Moreover, it presents state-of-the-technology instrumentation and techniques needed to conduct successful experiments.

Advanced Physical Chemistry Resource

"SpringerMaterials is based on the Landolt-Börnstein New Series, the unique, fully evaluated data collection in all areas of physical sciences and engineering. SpringerMaterials also comprises the Dortmund Data Bank Software & Separation Technology, a Database on Thermophysical Properties and the Linus Pauling Files, a Database on Inorganic Solid Phases and chemical safety data. Print copy of Landolt-Bornstein is available at the Swain Library." (Structure Searching)

* Polymer Chemistry

Encyclopedias and major reference works

Encyclopedia of Polymer Science and Technology
Hoboken, N.J. : Wiley-Interscience.
Stanford Libraries » Online resource » eResource
Articles in the Encyclopedia cover the fundamental and practical aspects of the polymer field, including polymeric materials, polymer properties, polymerization methods, processing, and uses. Special emphasis is put on new and advanced polymeric materials for various applications (e.g. coating, water filtration, energy, and biomedical applications, etc.), new and improved characterization and analytical methods, and modern processing technology.
Polymer science
Amsterdam ; Waltham, MA : Elsevier Science, c2012.
Stanford Libraries » Online resource » eResource
This Comprehensive Reference covers all aspects of polymer science from chemistry/chemical engineering to materials science, biological aspects, applications and fate of polymers in the environment. There are over 250 chapters that cover the following topics: Basic Concepts and Polymer Properties, Polymer Characterization, Chain Polymerization of Vinyl Monomers, Ring-opening polymerization and special polymerization processes, Polycondensation, Macromolecular Architectures and Soft Nano-objects, Nanostructured Polymer Materials and Thin Films, Polymers for Advanced Functional Materials, Polymers in Biology and Medicine, Polymers for a Sustainable Environment and Green Energy.

Handbooks

Boca Raton, FL : Chapman & Hall/CRC Press
Stanford Libraries » Online resource » eResource
"CHEMnetBASE is a collection of 11 chemistry databases. One-stop searching allows users to perform searches on chemical terms on chemical structures simultaneously across all databases within CHEMnetBASE except for Polymers: A Properties Database. It is also possible to search individual resources within CHEMnetBASE."  The 11 databases are: CRC handbook of chemistry and physics, Combined Chemical Dictionary, Dictionary of commonly cited compounds, Dictionary of drugs, Dictionary of food compounds, Dictionary of inorganic & organometallic compounds, Dictionary of marine natural products, Dictionary of natural products, Dictionary of organic compounds, Polymers : a property database, and Properties of organic compounds.

 

Software

Site-licensed by Science Library

The Robin Li and Melissa Ma Science Library has purchased campus-wide site licenses for several products. Access to all of these products is limited to current Stanford students, faculty, and staff.

PyMOL
[S.l.] : Schrodinger
Stanford Libraries » Online resource » eResource
PyMOL is molecular visualization software that is available in Mac, PC, and Linux. Stanford has a campus-wide site license that allows users to download the latest version of the software as well as documentation on how to use PyMOL. For more information, please see the PyMOL wiki and the PyMOL website
BrowZine
Stanford Libraries » Online resource » eResource
BrowZine lets you browse, read and monitor journals available from the Stanford University Libraries. Access BrowZine from a web browser or from an app on these devices: iPads, iPhones, iPod Touches, Android Tablets and Smartphones, and Kindle Fire HD Tablets. You can browse by subject area, create a personal bookshelf of favorite journals, be alerted when a new issue of a journal is published, and save articles in your personal library.  BrowZine can be synced with Box.com, Mendeley, Zotero, and other services. For more information, please see Use BrowZine page.

Lab safety

"Quick Selection Guide to Chemical Protective Clothing provides the reader with the latest information on Selection, Care and Use of Chemical Protective garments and gloves. Topics in the widely-used reference guide include Selection and Use of Chemical Protective Clothing, Chemical Index, Selection Recommendations, Glossary, Standards for Chemical Protective Clothing, Manufactures of Chemical Protective Clothing and European requirements for chemical resistant gloves. The key feature of the book is the color-coded selection recommendations. The red, yellow or green indications are highly appreciated by the users. This sixth edition of the Quick Selection Guide to Chemical Protective Clothing has been updated, to include approximately 1,000 chemicals/chemical brands or mixture of chemicals more than twice the information provided in the original edition." - (Publisher's description). 
[Silver Spring, Md.] : U.S. National Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration, National Ocean Service, Office of Response and Restoration, 2007-
Stanford Libraries » Online resource » eResource
"Find response information for thousands of hazardous materials, including fire and explosion hazards, health hazards, firefighting techniques, cleanup procedures, protective clothing, and chemical properties.  Use "My Chemicals" to build a list of chemicals. Explore reactivity, see what hazards might occur if chemicals in your MyChemicals collection are mixed together.  CAMEO Chemicals contains: A library with thousands of datasheets containing response-related information and recommendations for hazardous materials that are commonly transported, used, or stored in the United States. A reactivity prediction tool, which you can use to predict potential reactive hazards between chemicals. This tool is part of the CAMEO software suite, and it is available as a website, mobile website, and as a downloadable version that you can run on your own computer." - (Publisher's description).
[Hamilton, Ont. : Canadian Centre for Occupational Health and Safety, 1999?-
Stanford Libraries » Online resource » eResource
Includes a collection of databases related to occupational health and safety: Material Safety Data Sheets, CHEMINFO (safety info for important workplace chemicals), CHEMpendium (metasearch for chemical hazard information from many sources), Registry of Toxic Effects of Chemical Substances, and OSH References (index to literature).
"This book offers prudent practices designed to promote safety and includes practical information on assessing hazards, managing chemicals, disposing of wastes, and more. Prudent It serves as a leading source of chemical safety guidelines for people working with laboratory chemicals: research chemists, technicians, safety officers, educators, and students." -Publisher's description.
"
Rev. ed. Hoboken, N.J. : Wiley-Interscience, c2006.
Science Library (Li and Ma) » Stacks » QD53 .C69 2006
"Provides complete coverage of all commonly used lab equipment, including essential information about its selection, use, cleaning, and maintenance. It includes helpful guidelines and step-by-step procedures for each topic discussed. Since glassware is typically the most prevalent type of lab equipment, much of the book is devoted to the properties and handling of glass apparatus, with additional material on rubber and plastic tubing, corks, stoppers, and O-rings. Readers will also find broad coverage of measurement systems, high- and low-temperature apparatus and techniques, compressed gases, vacuum systems, and other essential subjects." - Publisher's description
 Laboratory safety for chemistry students, 2nd Edition
Second edition.
Science Library (Li and Ma) » Safety Collection » QD63.5 .H55 2016
"Provides knowledge and models of good practice needed by students to work safely in the laboratory as they progress through four years of undergraduate laboratory work 
  • Aligns with the revised safety instruction requirements from the ACS Committee on Professional Training 2015 “Guidelines and Evaluation Procedures for Bachelor’s Degree Programs”
  • Provides a systematic approach to incorporating safety and health into the chemistry curriculum
  • Topics are divided into layers of progressively more advanced and appropriate safety issues so that some topics are covered 2-3 times, at increasing levels of depth
  • Develops a strong safety ethic by continuous reinforcement of safety; to recognize, assess, and manage laboratory hazards; and to plan for response to laboratory emergencies
  • Covers a thorough exposure to chemical health and safety so that students will have the proper education and training when they enter the workforce or graduate school"
(Publisher's description)
"This book presents the basic techniques of the organic chemistry laboratory with an emphasis on doing the work correctly the first time. New to this edition are discussions on safety in the laboratory with new consideration of the addition of such technology as the iPad, Nook, Kindle, and even text messaging. Updated discussion is added on Microscale; a number of NMR spectra have been added, with basic interpretation and suggestions on presentation of the data; and lastly, presentation of a more modern outline of the instrumentation of HPLC is included." - Publisher's description
7th ed. Oxford : Elsevier/Butterworth-Heinemann, 2013.
Science Library (Li and Ma) » Reference » TP156 .P83 A76 2013
"A best seller since 1966, "Purification of Laboratory Chemicals" keeps engineers, scientists, chemists, biochemists and students up to date with the purification of the chemical reagents with which they work, the processes for their purification, and guides readers on critical safety and hazards for the safe handling of chemicals and processes. The Seventh Edition is fully updated and provides expanded coverage of the latest commercially available chemical products and processing techniques, safety and hazards: over 200 pages of coverage of new commercially available chemicals since the previous edition." - (Publisher's description).
"This two-volume manual provides guidelines of safe practices for university and college laboratories. Volume 1 is designed for student use. Volume 2 is designed for faculty and administrator use." - Publisher's description.

For advanced users

[New York] : John Wiley & Sons, c2001-
Stanford Libraries » Online resource » eResource
"This on-line work utilizes the full potential of the web by allowing alphanumeric searches through e-EROS and across all Wiley products, and by allowing chemical structure, substructure and reaction searching straight from a chemist's desktop. It contains a database of around 70,000 reactions and around 4000 of the most frequently consulted reagents and is fully searchable by structure and substructure, reagent, reaction type, experimental conditions etc. and allows sophisticated full text searches. e-EROS offers a systematic and exhaustive coverage of reagents used in organic synthesis. The Editorial Board are keeping e-EROS up-to-date by regularly adding new reagents and catalysts, and by updating existing articles whenever felt necessary. The A to Z listing covers classical reagents, new "designer" reagents and catalysts." (Structure Searching)
accessibilityaccessprivsarrow-circle-rightaskus-chataskus-librarianbarsblogsclosecoffeecomputercomputersulcontactsconversationcopierelectricaloutleteventsexternal-linkfacebook-circlegroupstudyhoursindividualinterlibrarynewsnextoffcampusopenlateoutdoorpeoplepolicypreviousprinterprojectsquietreservesscannersearchstudysupportingtabletourstwitter-circleworking