RESEARCH RESTART

The Libraries are resuming limited in-person research activities by appointment only as part of the University's Research Restart Plan.
Learn more about the Libraries' entry requirements and available services.

Children's books about the arts

This guide lists children's books and young adult literature about the arts and artists including the performing arts.

Recently received

Cover of Out of this world : the surreal art of Leonora Carrington
First edition.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » ND497 .C376 M37 2019
Ages 5-8; K-Gr.4
First edition.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » PS3569 .C34 M33 2018
Ages 7-14
First edition.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » PN1991.77 .W3 J37 2018
Lexile measure 1000; Ages 10-14; Gr.5-9; Robert F. Sibert Informational Honor Book, 2019
First edition.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » GV939 .B376 W35 2018 F
Lexile measure 660; Ages 8-10; Gr.1-4
Cover image of Blood water paint
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » PS3613 .C38575 B46 2018
Lexile measure HL740L; Ages 14 and up; Gr. 8 and up
First edition.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » PS3603 .O464 I43 2018 F
Ages 4-8; PrK-Gr.2
Sound-enabled edition. London : Mantra Lingua, 2013.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » N6260 .R6 2013
Elementary
Cover image of Drawn together
First edition.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » PS3612 .E16 D73 2018
Ages 4-7; PrK-Gr.2
First edition.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » ND259 .K33 W56 2002
AD520L;  K-Gr.3
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » GV1785 .H464 T66 2017
Lexile measure 980; Ages 8-10; Gr.3-6;   Américas Award winner, 2018
Ages 4-8; K-Gr.4
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » NK9112 .R84 2017
Lexile measure 970; Ages 8-12; Gr.3-7
First edition.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » PS3616 .E585 T45 2018 F
K-Gr.4
Cover image of They say blue
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » PR9199.4 .T345 T44 2018
PrK-Gr.2

Elementary

First edition.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » PS3616 .E896 C53 2017
Ages 4-8; PrK-Gr.2
First edition.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » PS3569 .A936 S55 2017
Lexile measure 790; Ages 11-13; Gr.3-7
First edition 2017.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » PS3611 .L337 N88 2017
Lexile measure 730; Ages 7-10; Gr.3-5
First edition.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » PS3613 .C585454 N88 2017
Ages 4-8; K-Gr.3
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » ND259 .K33 T87 2017
Gr.1-4
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » PR9199.4 .M3253 W35 2017
Ages 4-8; Prk-gr.3
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » PR9570 .S53 L445 2017
PrK-Gr.3
Lexile measure AD580L; Ages 5-7; PrK-Gr.3
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » PS3569 .I546 F44 2017
Lexile measure 490; Ages 5-8; K-Gr.3
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » PQ2719 .I444 H4813 2017 F
Lexile measure 740; Ages 4-8; PrK-Gr.3
First edition.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » PS3612 .O332 P35 2016
Ages 4-8; K-Gr.2
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » PS3612 .U97 B66 2017 F
Lexile measure AD520L; Ages 4-8
First edition.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » PS3557 .E7285 S54 2016
Lexile measure AD640L; Ages 4-8; PrK-Gr.2
Lexile measure 620; Ages 6-8; Gr.2-4
First edition.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » PS3563 .C34153 E46 2016
Lexile measure AD420L; Ages 5-7
First edition.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » N6537 .B233 S84 2016
Lexile measure 1050; Ages 8-10; Gr.1-3; Coretta Scott King Illustrator Award winner, 2017; Caldecoot Award winner, 2017
Gr.2-4; Ages 5-9
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » NE546 .P6 T65 2015
Ages 7-13; Gr.2-5
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » PQ2680 .U53 C6813 2014
Ages 3-6; PrK-Gr.2
First Edition.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » PS3552 .R848 A6 2014
Gr.3-6
First edition.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » PS3563 .Y363 M8 2015
K-Gr.3
First edition.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » ND699 .K3 R67 2014
Lexile measure AD630L; Ages 5-9; Gr.PrK-gr.3
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » N8354 .O86 2014
Ages 7-13
First edition.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » ND259 .K33 M66 2014
Ages 4-8; gr.2-5
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » PS3553 .O47645 D73 2014 F
Ages 4-8; Gr.K-gr.2
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » PS3604 .E4753 D36 2014
Lexile measure AD1100L; Ages 5-8; Gr.K-3
First edition.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » ND553 .M37 M25 2014
Lexile measure AD240L; Ages 4-8; Gr.K-3
Ages 5-8; Gr.1-3; Coretta Scott King illustrator award winner, 2015
London ; Boston : Walker, 2008.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » PR6052 .R6173 W565 2008 F
Lexile measure AD480; Book level 3; Ages 4-8; gr. k-2.  We also have this in Spanish.
New York : Abrams Books for Young Readers, 2011.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » ND259 .R5 T57 2011
Awards: Pura Belpré Illustrator award, 2012.; Lexile measure 1040; Book level 4.9; Ages 5-10, gr. K-3
1st ed. Cambridge, MA : Candlewick Press, 2003.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » PS3568 .E8964 D68 2003
Lexile measure 500; Ages 5-9; Grade level 2.1; Realistic fiction, gr. K-3
1st U.S. ed. New York : Walker, 2010.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » PS3622 .E4356 G73 2010
Ages 5-9; Book level 5.3; Realistic Fiction, gr. 1-3
1st ed. New York : Dutton Children's Books, c2003.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » N6923 .L33 B97 2003 F
Lexile measure 1120; Ages 10-14; Grade level 5.9; Nonfiction, gr. 4-8
New York : Putnam, c2001.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » NB1230 .F75 2001 F
Lexile measure 660; Book level 4.6; Ages 5-12; Biography and Autobiography; gr. 4-7
New York : Abrams Books for Young Readers, c2010.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » PS3614 .O9275 M4 2010
Book level 3.6; Ages 6-10, gr. 1-3
1st ed. New York : Farrar, Straus and Giroux, 2007.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » NC975.5 .S57 A2 2007 F
Ages 9-15; book level 5.2; autobiography; informational, gr. 7-12.
Boston : Houghton Mifflin, 1997.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » PS3607 .R4527 W48 1997

Middle school

First edition.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » ND653 .G7 H39 2017
Lexile measure 900; ages 14 and up; Gr.7 and up
First edition.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » PS3563 .Y48 J83 2015
Lexile measure 850; Ages 14-17: Gr.6-9
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » ND259 .R5 R83 2013
Lexile measure 980; gr.5-8
1st American ed. New York : Arthur A. Levine Books, 2013.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » NC994.5 .T36 A4 2013
Ages 11-15, gr. 7-12
1st American ed. New York : Arthur A. Levine Books, 2013.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » NC994.5 .T36 A4 2013
Ages 11-15, gr. 7-12
1st ed. New York : Scholastic Press, 2011.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » NC975.5 .S39 A2 2011
Awards: Sibert Honor Book, 2012; Ages 10-15; Autobiography, gr. 5-8
New York : Abrams Books for Young Readers, 2012.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » N6537 .C54 A2 2012
Ages 8-12; biography; gr. 5-8
1st ed. New York : Little, Brown and Co., 2011.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » NC975.5 .Y68 A2 2011 F
Ages 7-14, gr. 5-9
Boston : Houghton Mifflin Co., c2003.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » NA4670 .M33 2003 F
Lexile measure 1340; Book level 8.4; Ages 9 and up, gr. 5-9

Young adult

Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » ND259 .K33 P4714 2016 F
Secondary
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » PS3557 .R4886 U54 2014
Lexile measure HL760L; Ages 13 and up; Gr.10-12
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » N6549.5 .A54 D74 2014
Lexile measure 1040; Ages 12 and up; gr.9-12
Simon Pulse edition.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » PS3613 .O77938 N68 2015
Lexile measure 910; Ages 14 and up; Gr.9-12
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » NC1000 .K53 2013
Lexile measure 1100; Ages 10 and up; gr.8-12
1st ed. New York : Little, Brown, c2003.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » E185.6 .H515 2003
Lexile measure 1270; ages 11-18; book level 6; general nonfiction, gr. 8-12
1st ed. New York : Knopf, 1980.
Green Library » Stacks » PN2287 .P57 A37
Autobiography and biography, gr. 9-12
accessibilityaccessprivsarrow-circle-rightaskus-chataskus-librarianbarsblogsclosecoffeecomputercomputersulcontactsconversationcopierelectricaloutleteventsexternal-linkfacebook-circlegroupstudyhoursindividualinterlibrarynewsnextoffcampusopenlateoutdoorpeoplepolicypreviousprinterprojectsquietreservesscannersearchstudysupportingtabletourstwitter-circleworking