Children's books about the environment

This guide lists children's books and young adult literature that deal with issues surrounding the environment, ecology, conservation, or pollution.

Recently received

Lexile measure 980; Ages 6-9; Gr.3-7; Notable Social Studies Trade Books for Young People,2019
First edition.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » E160 .T87 2019
Ages 4-8; PrK-Gr.3
First edition.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » PS3612 .A54746 F57 2019
Ages 4-8; PrK-Gr.2
Ages 4-7; PrK-Gr.2; Outstanding Science Trade Book for Students: K-12, 2019; Best STEM Book for K-12 Students 2019
First edition.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » PS3604 .I468 C57 2019
Ages 8-12; Gr.5-8
First edition.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » QL737 .C27 M66 2019
Ages 4-8; K-Gr.2
Cover of The lost words : a spell book
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » QH48 .M225 2018 F
Gr.3 and up
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » QL737 .C27 T477 2018
Lexile measure NC1260L; Ages 8-10; Gr.5-7; Robert F. Siebert honor book, 2019
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » F2230.1 .A3 V35 2017
Elementary
Cover image of Spring after spring : how Rachel Carson inspired the environmental movement
First edition.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » QH31 .C33 S57 2018
Lexile measure AD790L; Ages 4-8; K-Gr.3
First edition.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » TL412 .F74 2016
Ages 3-8
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » TD792 .E26 2017
Lexile measure 1040; Ages 9-12; Gr.4-7; American Institute of Physics Science Communication Award in the Writing for Children, Winner, 2018
Cover image of Galapagos girl
First edition.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » PS3551 .R54 G35 2018
PrK-Gr.3
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » QL83.4 .D73 2017
Lexile measure 1090; Ages 9-12; Gr. 6 and up
First Dragonfly books edition.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » PS3563 .U3915 W42 2016
Ages 3-7; PrK-Gr.2
Cover image of Wildfires
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » SD421.23 .F87 2015
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » E160 .S53 2018 F
Ages 4-8; Gr.1-4
First edition.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » QH541.5 .F6 B845 2018
Lexile measure 1280; Ages 8-12; Gr.4-6
Cover image of If you hold a seed
Philadelphia : RP Kids, ©2013.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » PR9199.4 .M3253 I32 2013
PrK-Gr.2; Guided reading I
Lexile measure 830;  Ages 8-10; Gr.2-5
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » QC981.3 .T4313 2018
Gr.1-5

Elementary

Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » QL737 .U63 K57 2017
Ages 4-8; Prk-Gr.3
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » GB662.3 .B362 2016
Lexile measure 1070; Ages 9-12; Gr.3-6
First U.S. edition.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » QH541.15 .B56 D38 2017 F
Ages 5-8; K-Gr.3
First edition.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » PS3612 .A54625 G74 2017
Lexile measure 310; Ages 5-7
First edition.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » QL638.9 .W54 2017
K-Gr.2
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » ML3930 .B63 H66 2016
Lexile measure 820; Ages 5-8; Gr.2-5
First edition.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » PS3562 .A42167 P66 2016
PrK-Gr.2
Gr.1-3
New York, N.Y. : Crabtree Pub. Co., ©2004.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » QL666 .C536 K34 2004
Ages 8-10; Gr.3-6
2016 collector's edition.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » PR9619.4 .D354 S77 2016
Elementary
First edition.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » GE195.5 .D78 2016
Lexile measure 770; Ages 5-8; K-Gr.3
Earth Sciences Library (Branner) » Ask at circulation desk » QH104.5 .C66 S33 2016
Ages 3-6; PrK-K; Outstanding Science Tradebooks, 2017
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » QL49 .J4453 2016
Lexile measure 840; Ages 8-12; Gr.2-6; Outstanding science trade books, 2017
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » QL713.2 .S547 2016
Lexile measure AD550L; Ages 3-7; PrK-Gr.2; Outstanding science trade books, 2017
Earth Sciences Library (Branner) » Ask at circulation desk » QL737 .L32 C655 2016
Ages 7-12; Gr.2-5
First edition.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » GB848 .B36 2016
Lexile measure AD820L; Ages 5-7; PrK-Gr.3
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » QH541.14 .M35 2017
Ages 5-8; Gr.1-3
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » HD4485 .A358 P38 2015
Lexile measure AD480L; Ages 5-9; Gr.1-4
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » PR9199.4 .L368 T65 2016
Ages 3-7; PrK-Gr.2
Elementary
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » QL31 .G58 S55 2015
Lexile measure 1100; Ages 8-13; Gr.4-7
First US edition.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » GE56 .M33 P7413 2015
Ages 6-9; Gr.2-5
Ages 8-12; Gr.2-7
Mount Pleasant, S.C. : Sylvan Dell Publishing, c2010.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » QL83 .S52 2010
Lexile Measure 960; Book level 5; Ages 4-8; Gr.Prk-3
1st ed. New York : Roaring Brook Press, 2011.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » GB461 .C45 2011
Lexile measure 1010; Ages 2-4; Gr.K-3
1st U.S. ed. Somerville, Mass. : Candlewick Press, 2011.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » QL83 .J473 2011 F
Lexile measure 970; Book level 5.9; Ages 7 and up
Toronto, Ont. : Owlkids Books, c2012.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » GF48 .K453 2012
Ages 4-7; Gr.k-2; "Introduces readers to the extensive and surprising ways in which they are connected to the natural world around them."
New edition designed and edited by Bryce Milligan San Antonio, Tex. : Wings Press, c2000.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Stacks » PZ7 .T116 B33 2000
Book level 3.9
New York : H. Holt, 1993.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » QK495 .C11 G85 1993
Ages 4-8
Boston, [MA] : Houghton Mifflin Harcourt, 2010.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » QL737 .U53 M2274 2010
Lexile measure 900; Book level 4.9; Gr.3-5
1st ed. [New York] : HarperCollinsPublishers, c1995.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » F317 .E9 G3 1995
Lexile Measure 660; Book level 4; Ages 4-10; Gr.2-4
Markham, Ont. : Fitzhenry & Whiteside, c2006.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » QH545 .F5 G63 2006
Book level 4.9; Ages 6-9;
1st ed. Nevada City, CA : Dawn Publications, c2008.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » QC981.8 .C5 C475 2008
Lexile measure 1170; Book level 8.4; Ages 10-14; gr.4-7
New York : H. Holt, c1993.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » PS3556 .L438 I5 1993
Book level 2; Ages 3-6
New York : Random House, c1999.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » PS3513 .E2 L67 1999
Ages 4-8; Gr.Prk-2
1st ed. New York : Farrar, Straus, and Giroux, c2008 +
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » SB63 .M22 N58 2008
Lexile measure 1030; Book level 3.9; Ages 5-12; Gr.k-4
1st ed. San Diego : Harcourt Brace Jovanovich, c1992.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » F72 .N37 C44 1992
Lexile measure 670; Book level 4.7; Ages 6-10
New York : Scholastic Nonfiction, 2006.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » QL737 .U53 M227 2006
Book level 7.1; Ages 11-14; Ages 9-12
New York : Clarion Books, c1996.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » PS3552 .U4735 S43 1996
Lexile measure 590; Book level 3; Ages 5-8
1st ed. New York : Lee & Low Books, c2010.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » SB63 .M22 J646 2010
Lexile measure 820; Book level 4.8; Ages 7-10; Gr.2-4
Toronto : Maple Tree Press, c2007.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » QC981.8 .G56 T46 2007
Book level 7.6; Ages 8-14
[Nairobi, Kenya] : United Nations Environment Programme, 2007.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » PS3604 .O934 T64 2007
1st ed. New York : H. Holt, 1996.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » QL59 .F58 1996
Book leavel 2.5; Ages 5-8; Gr.k-2

Middle school

New York : Franklin Watts, ©2005.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » QC858 .F86 S54 2005
Gr.6-8; Guided reading X
First edition.
Earth Sciences Library (Branner) » Ask at circulation desk » TD170.15 .F54 2014
Ages 12 and up; Gr.6-10
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » TD388 .V93 2017
Ages 12-14; Gr.5-8
1st American ed. New York : Holiday House, 2009.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » PS3612 .L693 C37 2009
Lexile measure 690; Book level 4.4; Ages 12 and up; Gr.7-12
Waterville, Me. : Thorndike Press, 2003.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » PS3558 .I217 H66 2002
Lexile measure 760; Book level 5.2; Ages 9-12; Gr.5-8
1st ed. New York : Farrar, Straus, and Giroux, 2008.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » QL31 .S277 T87 2008
Lexile measure 1020; Book level 7.2; Ages 11 and up; Gr.5-9
Boston : Houghton Mifflin, 2000.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » QL696 .S473 W42 2000
Lexile measure 1040; Book level 6.9; Ages 11 and up
Boston : Houghton Mifflin, 2007.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » GC232 .B87 2007
Lexile measure 1200; Book level 8.5; Ages 10-16; Gr.5-9
Toronto : Groundwood Books, 2007.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » QC903.15 .E93 2007
Ages 12 and up; gr.7-12

Young adult

Gr. 9 and up; NSTA Outstanding Science Trade Books, 2017
1st ed. New York : Little, Brown and Co., 2010.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » PS3602 .A3447 S48 2010
Lexile measure 690; Book level 4.4; Ages 12 and up; Gr.9-12
accessibilityaccessprivsarrow-circle-rightaskus-chataskus-librarianbarsblogsclosecoffeecomputercomputersulcontactsconversationcopierelectricaloutleteventsexternal-linkfacebook-circlegroupstudyhoursindividualinterlibrarynewsnextoffcampusopenlateoutdoorpeoplepolicypreviousprinterprojectsquietreservesscannersearchstudysupportingtabletourstwitter-circleworking