Children's books with a Latin American theme

This guide lists children's books and young adult literature in Cubberley Education Library about Latin America or its people.

Recently received

Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » PS3618 .A918 V36 2019
Ages 4-7
Cover of The piñata that the farm maiden hung
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » PS3622 .A556 P56 2019
Ages 4-8; K-Gr.2
Elementary
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » F3327 .M67 J35 2018
First edition.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » PS3603 .E745 M4 2018
Lexile 710L; Ages 8-12
Cover image of Fiesta femenina : celebrating women of Mexican folklore
Paperback edition.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » GR115 .G47 2018
Ages 9-14; Grades 4-8
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » F2829.6 .B388 V35 2017
Elementary
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » HV6322.3 .A7 J35 2017
Elementary
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » F2849 .P37 F56 2017
Elementary
1a ed.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » LB880 .F732 J356 2017
Elementary
Elementary
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » F2847 .F55 2017
Elementary
Primera edición.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » F1219.1 .T27 L48 2009
Elementary
Bogotá : Instituto de Investigación de Recursos Biológicos Alexander von Humboldt, 2015.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » PQ8180.425 .V543 R36 2015
Elementary
Cover image of A gift from Abuela
First edition.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » PS3618 .U53 G54 2018
Lexile measure AD540L; Ages 4-7; PrK-Gr.1
1st ed. Willimantic, CT : Curbstone Press, 2009.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » PS3613 .I5626 G75 2009
Gr.9 and up; Lexile measure HL690L; Americas Award for Children & Young Adult Literature, Honor, 2010
1st American ed. New York : Scholastic, 1996.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » PR9205.6 .D69 1996 F
Ages 4-8; Gr.2-4;  Americas Award for Children & Young Adult Literature, Honor book, 1991
Cover image of The mermaid's twin sister : more stories from Trinidad
New York : Clarion Books, ©1994.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » PS3560 .O7754 M47 1994
Gr.4-7;   Americas Award for Children & Young Adult Literature, Winner, 1994
1st ed. New York : Delacorte Press, ©2006.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » PS3618 .E82 W48 2006
Ages 12 an dup; Lexile measure 750; Gr.5-9; Guided reading W;  Americas Award for Children & Young Adult Literature, Honor book, 2006
1st ed. New York : Lodestar Books, ©1996.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » PS3560 .E489 S6 1996
Ages 14 and up; Gr.7-12; Americas Award for Children & Young Adult Literature, Honor book, 1996
Cover image of Heart of a jaguar
New York : Simon & Schuster Books for Young Readers, c1995.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » PS3570 .A376 H43 1995
Lexile measure 900; Ages 12 and up; Gr.7 and up; Americas Award for Children & Young Adult Literature, Honor book, 1995
1st ed. New Milford, Conn. : Roaring Brook Press, 2007.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » PS3606 .L63 R35 2007
Gr.4-6; Americas Award for Children & Young Adult Literature, Honor book, 2008
New York : Clarion Books, ©2005.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » PS3558 .A54373 S43 2005
Lexile measure 760; K-Gr.4; Guided reading Q; Americas Award for Children & Young Adult Literature, Honor book, 2005
Cover image of Tonight, by sea : a novel
New York : Orchard Books, ©1995.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » PS3570 .E528 T66 1995
Lexile measure 750; Ages 12 and up; Gr.5-9; Americas Award for Children & Young Adult Literature, winner, 1995
1st ed. New York : Dial Books for Young Readers, ©1998.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » PS3603 .A75253 M36 1998
Lexile measure 810; Ages 4-8; K-Gr.3; Americas Award for Children's and Young Adult Literature winner , 1998; Pura Belpre Illustrator Honor, 2000
New York : Clarion Books, ©1997.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » PS3558 .A54373 F33 1997
Ages 6-9; Americas Award for Children's and Young Adult Literature Winner, 1997
Cover image of The composition
First English-language edition.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » PQ8098.29 .K3 C6613 2000
Lexile measure 429; Ages 9 and up;  Americas Award for Children's and Young Adult Literature winner , 2000; Jane Addams Children's  Book Award Winner, 2001
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » PQ7298.423 .O728 L86 2015
Elementary
Primera edición.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » F1232 .M842 P23 2015
Elementary
Primera edición.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » F1435.1 .P2 B37 2017
Elementary & middle school
New York : Clarion Books, ©2001.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Stacks » F790 .M5 F74 2001
Lexile measure 1180; Ages 12 and up;  Gr.6-8
Cover image of Cuba : after the revolution
First edition.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » F1799 .H35 W66 1999
Ages 9 and up; Gr.4-6
1a ed. México, D.F. : Ediciones Tecolote, 2010.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » F1230 .L53 1997
Elementary
Cover image of The Queen of water
1st ed. New York : Ember, 2012, ©2011.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » PS3618 .E82 Q44 2012
Lexile measure 890; Ages 14 and up; Gr.9 and up
Primera edición. Ciudad de México : Ediciones El Naranjo, 2013.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » PQ7298.428 .A468 M5 2013
Elementary
First edition.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » PS3555 .N4254 A45 2017
Lexile measure AD890L: PrK-Gr.2; Americas Award honorable mention, 2018
Cover image of Trenfugiados
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » PR9199.4 .H6436 M35 2016
Lexile measure AD610L; Ages 4-8; PrK-Gr.2;  Americas Award honorable mention, 2017
First edition.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » ND259 .K33 W56 2002
AD520L;  K-Gr.3
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » F2849.22 .G85 F56 2016
Elementary
Cover image of Danza! : Amalia Hernández and el Ballet Folklórico de México
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » GV1785 .H464 T66 2017
Lexile measure 980; Ages 8-10; Gr.3-6;   Américas Award winner, 2018
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » PS3621 .U25 C48 2018
Lexile measure AD530L; Ages 5-7; K-Gr.3
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » F1221 .C57 M66 2016
Elementary
1. ed. México, D.F. : CIDCLI, 2010.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » F1219.1 .C32 D44 2010
Elementary
1. ed. Ciudad de México : Ediciones Tecolote, 2008.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » ML3570.8 .V47 B36 2008
Elementary
Cover image of La cucaracha
[Caracas] : Camelia Ediciones ; [Ciudad de México] : Ediciones Tecolote, 2008.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » ML3570.6 .B47 2008
Elementary
Segunda edición.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » QL605.3 .O769 2009
Elementary
First edition.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » PS3605 .R75 A38 2018
Elementary

Elementary

PrK-K
1st ed.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » GT4995 .A4 B37 2010
Lexile measure AD530;L PrK-2; Guided reading M
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » ND259 .K33 T87 2017
Gr.1-4
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » ML3930 .B63 H66 2016
Lexile measure 820; Ages 5-8; Gr.2-5
First edition.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » PS3613 .A562 R67 2016
Ages 3-8; K-Gr.4
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » PS3607 .A7832 L83 2017
PrK-Gr.2
First edition.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » PS3604 .I17 O55 2016
Ages 8-12; Gr.3-7; Pura Belpre Author honor book, 2017
First edition.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » PS3613 .E337 J83 2016
Gr.2-4; Pura Belpre Author award, 2017
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » ML3930 .E83 V36 2016
Lexile measure 910; Ages 6-9; Gr.2-6. Pura Belpre Illustrator Honor book, 2017
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » PS3603 .R4583 S63 2015
Lexile measure AD560L; Ages 5-7; PrK-Gr.2
First edition.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » PS3554 .E3552 R66 2017
Lexile measure AD550L; Ages 4-8; K-Gr.2
First edition.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » QL737 .C26 D45 2016
Gr.1-4; NCTE Orbis Pictus Honor Book, 2017
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » PQ7539.2 .A67 S64 2016
Ages 7-12; Gr.3-7
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » F1219.3 .F6 T66 2016
Lexile measure 770; Ages 6-9; Prk-gr.2; Pura Belpre Illustrator Honor, 2017
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » PS3616 .A92763 F54 2018
Lexile measure 230; Ages 3-6; Prk-Gr.3
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » PS3602 .O8978 S66 2015
Lexile measure 810; Ages 8-12; Gr.4-7; Pura Belpre Book Award honor, 2016
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » PQ7298.412 .U45 D6713 2015
Lexile measure AD370L; Ages 4-7; K-Gr.2
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » NE546 .P6 T65 2015
Ages 7-13; Gr.2-5
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » PS3555 .N4254 D78 2015
Ages 4-8; Prk-Gr.2
First edition.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » PS3554 .O6954 A63 2014
Ages 4-8; PrK-Gr.3
New York : Children's Book Press,an imprint of Lee & Low Books Inc., [2007]
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » PQ7539.2 .A67 A23 2007
Book level 3.2; Ages 5-12; Gr.4-8
First edition.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » ND259 .K33 M66 2014
Ages 4-8; gr.2-5
New York : Abrams Books for Young Readers, c2010.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » PS3614 .O9275 M4 2010
Book level 3.6; Ages 6-10, gr. 1-3
Boston : Clarion Books/Houghton Mifflin Harcourt, 2012.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » BX4700 .M397 S46 2012
Awards: Pura Belpré Illustrator Award, 2013.; Lexile measure 700, gr. 2-4
New York : Abrams Books for Young Readers, 2011.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » PS3569 .A236 M36 2011
Book level 3.1; Ages 5-7, gr. 1-3
New York : Abrams Books for Young Readers, 2011.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » ND259 .R5 T57 2011
Awards: Pura Belpré Illustrator award, 2012.; Lexile measure 1040; Book level 4.9; Ages 5-10, gr. K-3
Parallel title: Animalario del Iguazú; Book level 4.9; Ages 7-12, gr. 3-6
Ages 4-8, PreK-3
1st ed. New York, NY : HarperCollins Children's Books, c2009.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » PS3563 .O73 B6618 2009
Ages 2-7; bedtime stories, gr. PreK-2
New York : Knopf, 2005.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » PS3563 .O73 D66 2005 F
Physical Description: 1 v. (unpaged) : col. ill. ; 32 cm.; Lexile measure 830; ages 5-8; book level 4.2; western, PreK-2
1st ed. New York : Scholastic Press, 2010.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » PS3568 .Y3926 D74 2010
Lexile measure 650; Ages 12-14; Book level 4.6, gr. 4-8
1st ed. New York : Rosen Pub. Group, 2009.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » F1230 .C385 A3618 2009
Gr. 3-6
1st ed. San Diego : Harcourt, c2001.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » F2519.1 .A6 M33 2001
Lexile measure AD510L; Book level 3.8; Ages 4-8; gr.K-2; Guided reading L
1st ed. New York : Alfred A. Knopf : Distributed by Random House, 2002.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » PQ7296 .J6 Z6993 2002
Ages 5-10; Book level 3.7; Historical fiction, gr. 1-3
Atlanta: Peachtree, c2007.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » PS3554 .E3552 M37 2007 F
Lexile measure 720; ages 4-8; book level 3.1; fables, folk tales, and myths, gr. K-2
1st impression. Flagstaff, Ariz. : Rising Moon, 2004.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » ML3930 .C96 B76 2004
Lexile measure 850; ages 8-12; book level 4.1, gr. 3-6
Lexile measure 910; book level 5.1; biography, gr. 2-4
1st ed. New York : Atheneum Books for Young Readers, c2006.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » GR230 .C357 2006
Gr. 1-4
Boston : Harcourt Children's Books, 2012.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » PS3555 .N4254 W55 2012
Ages 11-15: gr.4-7

Middle school

First edition.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » PS3555 .N4254 Z46 2015
Lexile measure 1120; Ages 12-18; Gr.5-8
First Yearling edition.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » PS3607 .O558 R43 2011
Book level 3.8; Ages 10-14; Gr.5-8
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » PS3555 .N4254 S55 2014
Ages 12 and up; Gr.7-12
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » PQ8098.1 .G6 V5813 2014
Lexile measure 770; Ages 10-14; Gr.5-9; Pura Belpré Author Award, 2015
First edition.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » PS3602 .R722873 C36 2014
Ages 10-14; Gr.6-9
1st ed. New York : Henry Holt, 2009.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » PS3555 .N4254 T76 2009
Lexile measure 1170; Ages 12-15; Gr.7-10
Watertown, Mass. : Charlesbridge, c2013.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » F1219.3 .F6 G65 2013
Lexile measure 930; Ages 7-11; Gr.5-7
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » PS3555 .N4254 L54 2013
Ages 11-18; Gr.6-9
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » ND259 .R5 R83 2013
Lexile measure 980; gr.5-8
1st ed. New York : A. Knopf, c2002.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » PS3551 .L845 B44 2002
Lexile measure 890L; Book level 5.6; ages 12-15; realistic fiction
1st ed. El Paso : Cinco Puntos Press, c2008.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » GR121 .C8 H3918 2008
Ages 9-12; Fables, folktales' and myths, gr. 5-9
1st ed. New York : Henry Holt and Co., 2010.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » PS3555 .N4254 F57 2010
Lexile measure 1230; Ages 10 and up; Book level 6.2; Historical fiction, gr. 6-12
San Diego : Harcourt, c2001.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » PS3562 .A913 I5 2001
Lexile measure 910; Ages 9-15; Book level 6.2; Historical fiction, gr. 6-8
New York : Roaring Brook Press, c2010.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » PS3606 .L63 A615 2010
Ages 11-18; Historical Fiction, gr. 5-8
1st ed. New York : Henry Holt and Co., 2008.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » PS3555 .N4254 S87 2008
Book level 6.4, Ages 12 and up; Gr.7-12

Young adult

Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » PS3623 .A356333 H65 2015
Ages 11 and up; Gr.8-12
1st ed. New York : Delacorte Press, c2008.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » PS3616 .E52 M49 2008
Lexile measure 680; ages 14-18; book level 4.3, gr. 9-12
1st ed. New York : Simon & Schuster Books for Young Readers, c2007.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » PZ7 .A37338 S64 2007
Lexile measure 670; Book level 4.5; Ages 13 and up, gr. 10-12
accessibilityaccessprivsarrow-circle-rightaskus-chataskus-librarianbarsblogsclosecoffeecomputercomputersulcontactsconversationcopierelectricaloutleteventsexternal-linkfacebook-circlegroupstudyhoursindividualinterlibrarynewsnextoffcampusopenlateoutdoorpeoplepolicypreviousprinterprojectsquietreservesscannersearchstudysupportingtabletourstwitter-circleworking