Children's books by or about Native Americans

This guide lists children's books and young adult literature in Cubberley Education Library by or about Native Americans,

Recently received

Summertown, Tenn. : Native Voices, ©2001.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » HQ1410 .W35 2001
Young adult
Ages 12 and up; Gr.9 and up
Cover image of Go show the world : a celebration of Indigenous heroes
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » E89 .K55 2018 F
Ages 5-9; Gr.1-3
Atlanta, Ga. : August House LittleFolk, 2007.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » E99 .C8 T57 2007
Lexile measure 590; Ages 5-8; PrK-Gr.2
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » E99 .O3 N47 2017
Lexile measure AD880L; Ages 8-10; Gr.4-6
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » E99 .C5 S657 2018
Lexile NC970L; Ages 3-7; K-Gr.2
Cover image of The cloud artist
First edition.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » PS3613 .A73975 C56 2017
Ages 4-8; Gr.3-7
New York : Clarion Books, ©2001.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Stacks » F790 .M5 F74 2001
Lexile measure 1180; Ages 12 and up;  Gr.6-8
Cover image of When I was eight
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » E99 .E7 P577 2013
Ages 6-9; K-Gr.4
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » E99 .E7 P575 2014
Gr.2-5
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » TL789.85 .H47 M58 2016
Ages 5-7; American Indian Library Association  Youth Literature Award Honor, 2018
Cover image of "Fall in line, Holden!"
First edition.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » PS3622 .A5948 F35 2017
Gr.3-4; American Indian Library Association  Youth Literature Award Honor, 2018
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » E98 .W8 N68 2017
Lexile measure 910; Ages 14 and up
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » PR9199.3 .K4422 C69 2017
Lexile measure 570; Ages 8-10
Cover image of The marrow thieves
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » PR9199.4 .D56 M37 2017
Gr.8 and up
First edition.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » PS648 .S5 F65 2015
Lexile measure 800
First edition.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » GV958 .U33 S54 2017
Lexile measure 980; Ages 10-14; Gr.6 and up

Elementary

San Francisco, Calif. : Children's Book Press ; [Place of publication not identified] : Distributed to the Book trade by the Talman Co., ©1989.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » E99 .C55 A73 1989
Lexile measure AD550L; Ages 3-7; PrK-Gr.2; Reading level 3.8
Elementary
Lexile measure 650; Gr.1-3; Ages 6-8
First edition.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » PS3555 .R42 M35 2016
Lexile measure 850; Ages 8-10; Gr.4-6
First edition.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » PS3551 .L35774 T57 2016
Lexile measure AD420L; Age 5-7; K-Gr.4
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » E99 .D1 N46 2015
Lexile measure 860; Ages 8-12; Gr.3-6
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » PS3563 .A72215 I5 2015
Lexile measure 620; Ages 9-13; Gr.4-6
1st ed. New York : Harper, c2012
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » PS3555 .R42 C48 2012
Lexile measure 800, Ages 8-11
New York : Morrow Junior Books, c2000.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » PS3619 .M5743 J56 2000
Lexile measure 710; Book level 3.7; Ages 5-9
1st ed. New York : HarperCollins, c2005.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » PS3555 .R42 G36 2005
Lexile measure 900; Ages 8-15; Grade level 5.9; General fiction, Historical fiction
New York : H. Holt, 1987.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » PS3563 .A723256 K66 1987
Lexile measure 480; ages 4-8; book level 2.8; fables, folk tales and myths
Mahwah, N.J. : Bridgewater Books, 1997.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » E77.4 .B78 1997
Lexile measure 580; ages 3-7; Grade level 2.1; Alphabet book
1st ed. New York, NY : HarperCollinsPublishers, c2008.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » PS3555 .R42 P67 2008
Lexile measure 840; ages 8-14; book level 5.6
1st ed. El Paso, TX : Cinco Puntos Press, c2010.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » E99 .C8 T55 2010
Book level: 3.7; Ages: 6-10; Biography, gr. 3-5
1st ed. New York : Dutton Children's Books, c2005.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » PS3603 .A793 S94 2005
Lexile measure 1000; Ages 9-14; Grade level 5.0; General fiction, Historical fiction

Middle school

Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » E98 .U72 U73 2015
Gr.7 and up
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » PS3618 .O3174 H53 2015
Lexile measure AD740L; Gr.5 and up
1st ed. New York : Arthur A. Levine Books, 2013.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » PS3557 .A5196 I3 2013
Lexile measure 870; Ages 12-15; Gr.6-10; Guided reading Z+
First edition. New York : Tu Books, an imprint of Lee & Low Books, Inc., 2013.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » PS3552 .R794 K55 2013
Lexile measure 860; Ages 12 and up; Gr.7-12
1st pbk. ed. Cambridge, Mass. : Candlewick Press, 2008, c2007.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » PS3619 .M5743 T36 2008
Lexile measure 760; Ages 12 and up; Gr.7-12
Toronto : Groundwood Books, c2013.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » E98 .C5 E45 2013
Lexile measure 780; ages 12 and up
1st ed. New York : HarperCollins, c2001.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » PS3619 .M5743 R35 2001
Lexile measure 860; Book level 5.8; Ages 10-14; Gr.6-10
1st ed. New York : Henry Holt and Co., 2011.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » E81 .Z56 2011
Lexile measure 1140; Ages 11-15, gr. 5-8
Golden, Colo. : Fulcrum Pub., c2010.
Green Library » Stacks » E98 .F6 T73 2010
Ages 10 and up; Gr.8-12
Washington, D.C. : National Geographic, c[2006]
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » E99 .C92 M42 2006
Lexile measure 950; ages 9-15, book level 5.9; biography
1st ed. New York : Scholastic Press, c2006.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » E99 .A6 G3226 2006
Lexile measure 900; ages 12-16; book level 5.8; historical fiction
Washington, D.C. : National Geographic Society, 2006.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » E83.876 .W35 2006
Lexile measure 1170; book level 7.1; general nonfiction
New York : Dial Books, c2005.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » PS3552 .R794 C63 2005
Lexile measure 910, ages 12 and up; book level 6.4; Historical fiction

Young adult

Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » N6549.5 .A54 D74 2014
Lexile measure 1040; Ages 12 and up; gr.9-12
1st ed. New York : Little, Brown, c2007.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » PS3551 .L35774 A27 2007
Lexile measure 600; ages 13 and up; book level 4; comedy and humor; realistic fiction
accessibilityaccessprivsarrow-circle-rightaskus-chataskus-librarianbarsblogsclosecoffeecomputercomputersulcontactsconversationcopierelectricaloutleteventsexternal-linkfacebook-circlegroupstudyhoursindividualinterlibrarynewsnextoffcampusopenlateoutdoorpeoplepolicypreviousprinterprojectsquietreservesscannersearchstudysupportingtabletourstwitter-circleworking