Communication 143/243 Communication Policy and Regulation
Communication Policy and Regulation: COMM 134, 243
This course explores the creation and implementation of communication policies in the US. The course focuses on how individual decisions of political actors –whether they are in interest groups, legislatures, agencies, or audiences –are translated into collective choices in communication policies.
Table of Contents
Government Info & Interest Groups
Gov info & interest group resources
Encyclopedias for background information
Select Books & Journal Titles on Interest Groups
Public opinion resources
Selected public opinion resources
News, media & FCC links
Selected news and media resources
Lexis/Nexis is a major news, business. and legal publications index.
Proquest Newsstand is also a good source of current US news. and media
FAIR - Fairness and accuracy in Reporting.
Federal Communications Commission (FCC) and Transistions FCC for headlines news from the FCC. The FCC regulates interstate and international communications by radio, television, wire, satellite and cable in all 50 states, the District of Columbia and U.S. territories and is an independent U.S. government agency.
FCC data - Information about FCC Data
FCC Databases - The FCC is responsible for managing and licensing the electromagnetic spectrum for commercial users and for non-commercial users including: state, county and local governments. This includes public safety, commercial and non-commercial fixed and mobile wireless services, broadcast television and radio, satellite and other services. In licensing the spectrum, the Commission promotes efficient and reliable access to the spectrum for a variety of innovative uses as well as promotes public safety and emergency response.
FCC record - FCC record is the published record of decisions made to apply broadcasting regulations.
Additional News Databases listed below:
Optional Secondary Sources
Selected article databases
Acdemic Search Premier - Comprehensive multidisciplinary journal literature database. Includes full-text access.
Ciao: Columbia International Affair Online - A comprehensive source for theory and research in international affairs.
Communication & Mass Media Complete - Offers information from over 600 journals in communication, mass media and related fields; includes abstracts, indexing, bibliographical citations and author profiles, as well as full text from more 240 titles.
Communication Studies - SAGE full-text -Includes the full-text of 16 journals published by SAGE and participating societies related to Journalism, Public Opinion, Political Communication, Mass Communication, Interpersonal Communication.
Congressional Publications -Congressional Information Service publications via Proquest. Full-text access to Congressional hearings, reports and documents, as well as reports from the Congressional Research Service (CRS), Congress' thinktank.
CQ Electronic Library - CQ's authoritative and balanced coverage of public affairs includes the CQ Researcher, CQ Weekly, CQ's Electronic Encyclopedia of American Government, the electronic version of Washington Information Directory (eWID), and the CQ Public Affairs Collection, CQ Insider.
Data-Planet statistical datasets - Provides access to statistical information produced by U.S. Federal agencies, States, private organizations, and major intergovernmental organizations.
ERIC - The Educational Resources Information Center (ERIC) is a national information system providing access to education-related literature. Urban Education.
GenderWatch - Full text collection of journals, magazines, newsletters, regional publications, books, booklets and pamphlets, conference proceedings and governmental n-g-o and special reports devoted to women's and gender issues.
IBSS - International Bibliography of the Social Sciences. This database is compiled by the British Library of Political and Economic Science of the London School of Economics and Political Science.
Index to Current Urban DocumentsThe Index to Current Urban Documents (ICUD), contains reports and research generated by local government agencies, civic organizations, academic and research organizations, public libraries, and metropolitan and regional planning agencies from more than 500 major cities in the United States and Canada.
PAIS international- The Public Affairs Information Service covers issues in the public debate.
Proquest Statistical Insight-Provides statistical data from U.S. government publications from 1973, state and private sources from 1980, and international organizations from 1983. Proquest Statistical Insight is an index/abstract database, providing bibliographic information to statistics produced by the U.S. federal government, state and local governments, international governmental organizations, and non-governmental organizations. Proquest Statistical provides electronic access to American Statistics Index, Statistical Reference Index and Index to International Statistics. Some links are provided to statistics directly. Proquest Statistical also provides web access to the Census Bureau's Statistical Abstract of the United States. Former titles: Lexis Nexis Statistical; Statistical Universe; Statistical Compass.
SCOPUS - Social Sciences - Social Science abstract and citation database, including peer-reviewed titles from international publishers, Open Access journals, conference proceedings, trade publications, quality web sources.
Social Science Citation Index - An international, multidisciplinary index to the literature of the social, behavioral, and related sciences.
Sociological Abstracts - Sociological Abstracts abstracts and indexes the international literature in sociology and related disciplines in the social and behavioral sciences.
Sociology - Sage Journals Online - See also "Journals" tab.
Urban Studies Abstracts - Urban Studies Abstracts includes bibliographic records covering essential areas related to urban studies, including urban affairs, community development, urban history, and other areas of key relevance to the discipline.
Worldwide Political Science Abstracts - This database provides abstracts and indexing of the international literature of political science and international relations, along with complementary fields, including international law and public administration/policy.