Graphic novels and education

This guide is for those who are interested in the use of graphic novels in education and for those who want to know some of the graphic novels in Cubberley Library.

Background information

Practice-oriented
Cover image of Handbook of research on children's and young adult literature
New York : Routledge, 2011.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Reference » PS121 .H22 2011
See especially Chapter 18 "Comics and Graphic Novels" pp. 256-274.

Graphic novels/nonfiction

In addition to Cubberley Library, you will find graphic novels in Green Library, East Asia Library, and SAL3.  Many in fiction are shelved under PN6727, but they are popping up in other subject areas, as well.

Art

Cover image of Drawing from memory
1st ed. New York : Scholastic Press, 2011.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » NC975.5 .S39 A2 2011
Awards: Sibert Honor Book, 2012; Ages 10-15; Autobiography, gr. 5-8

Folklore & mythology

1st ed. Somerville, Mass. : Candlewick Press, 2010.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » PN6727 .H52 O39 2010
Lexile measure 840; Ages 12 and up; Gr.9-12
Golden, Colo. : Fulcrum Pub., c2010.
Green Library » Stacks » E98 .F6 T73 2010
Gr.8-12

History and biography

Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » PN6727 .K879 Z46 2016
Gr.9 and up
Cover image of Drowned city
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » HV636 2005 .N4 B75 2015
Lexile measure GN920L; Ages 12 and up; Gr.6-9
First edition.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » HQ759.96 .T46 2014
Lexile measure GN290L; Ages 8-12; gr.5-7; Guided reading R
Cover image of El Deafo
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » HV2534 .B44 A3 2014
Lexile measure 420; Ages 8-12; Gr.3-6
Cover image of Abina and the important men
1st ed. New York : Oxford University Press, 2012.
Green Library » Stacks » KRX46 .M36 .G48 2012
Children's Africana Book Award, 2013; Gr. 9-12. "The first of its kind, Abina and the Important Men is a compelling and powerfully illustrated 'graphic history' based on a 1876 court transcript of a West African woman named Abina, who was wrongfully enslaved and took her case to court....it uses the power of illustration to convey important theme in world history and to reveal the processes by which history is made."
1st ed. New York : Rosen Pub. Group, 2009.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » F1230 .C385 A3618 2009
Ages 8 and up; Gr.3 and up
Skokie, Ill. : Nachshon Press, 2007.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » DS118 .W65 2007
Ages 12 and up
Cover image of Malcolm X
1st ed. New York : Hill and Wang, 2006.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » BP223 .Z8 L5745 2006
Book level 6.6; Ages 12-18
Marietta, GA : Top Shelf Productions, [2013]-[2016]
Green Library » Stacks » E840.8 .L43 A3 2013 BK.1
Ages 11 and up
1st American ed. New York : W.W. Norton & Co., c2009.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » DT1974 .N47 2009 F
Ages 11-18
1st ed. New York : Atheneum Books for Young Readers, c2006.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » GV1785 .S54 A3 2006
Ages 11-18; Gr.4-8
1st ed. New York : Lee & Low Books, c2010
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » F548.9 .N4 N47 2010
Ages 12 and up
Cape Town : Story Circle, [20--?]
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » HQ789 .T76 2000Z F

Science & health

Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » QL122.2 .W54 2014
Ages 12 and up; Gr.7 and up
Cover image of Smile
1st ed. New York : Graphix, 2010.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » RK55 .Y68 T45 2010
Lexile measure 410; Ages 9-13; Gr.5-8
Toronto : Groundwood Books, 2007.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » QC903.15 .E93 2007
Ages 12 and up; Gr.8-12

Graphic novels/fiction

Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » PN6790 .B73 O75 2017
Elementary
First edition.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » PS3603 .L53 D455 2013
Lexile measure GN440; Ages 12 and up; Gr.6 and up
First edition.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » PS3566 .I51118 D64 2016
GN390; Ages 7-11; Gr.1-4; Guided reading P
Cover of Through the woods
First edition.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » PN6790 .C23 C378 2014
Lexile measure GN550L; Ages 14-17; Gr.8 and up
First edition.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » PN6727 .P3565 B56 2019
Ages 14+
First edition.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » PS3603 .R3375 N49 2019
Ages 8-12; Gr.4-7
Cover image of Crush
First JY edition.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » PN6733 .C56 C78 2018
Lexile measure HL150L; ages 9-12; Gr.5-8
First edition.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » PS3602 .R6446 S26 2018
Lexile measure GN310L; Ages 8-10; Gr.3-6
First American edition.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » PN6790 .J33 T255613 2017 V.1
Cover image of Tiger vs. nightmare
First edition.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » PN6727 .T297 T54 2018
Ages 3-6; K-Gr.3
Ages 7-9; Gr.2-5
First edition.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » PN6727 .K736 H49 2018
Lexile measure 510; Gr.7 and up; National Book Award for Young People's Literature, finalist, 2018
Cover image of Estranged
First edition.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » PN6727 .A392 E88 2018
Ages 8-12; Gr.3-7
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » PN6727 .B784 T47 2018
Ages 3-7; PrK-Gr.2
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » PN6727 .T663 U53 2018
Cover image of Sheets
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » PN6727 .T483 S54 2018
Ages 12 and up; Gr.6 and up
First edition.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » PN6727 .Y36 S43 2015
Ages 8-12; Gr.4-6
First edition.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » PN6727 .S415 O58 2018
Lexile measure GN300L;  Ages 8-12; Gr.4-7
Cover image for Illegal
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » JV6344 .C65 2018
Lexile measure GN490L; Ages 8-12; Gr.6-8
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » PN6727 .H478 D73 2017
Lexile measure 570; Ages 8-10; Gr.4-6
Cover image of As the crow flies
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » PN6727 .G55 A7 2017
Gr.6 and up; Stonewall Honor Books in Children's and Young Adult Literature, 2018
First edition.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » PN6727 .B7569 B42 2018
Lexile measure GN360L; Ages 10-14; Gr.5-8
First edition.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » PN6727 .L368 A65 2018
Lexile measure GN250L;  Ages 10-12; Gr.5-8
Cover image of Cici's journal : the adventures of a writer-in-training
First edition.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » PN6747 .C435 C3713 2017
Lexile measure GN460L; Ages 9-13; Gr.3-6
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » PN6727 .R815 B65 2018
Lexile measure GN550L; Ages 5-8; K-Gr.3
First edition.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » PN6727 .W284 P75 2018
Lexile measure GN360L; Ages 12 and up; Gr.6 and up
Cover image of The sand warrior
First edition.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » PN6727 .S51549 S36 2017
Ages 7-12; Gr.3-5
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » PS3602 .R344455 L37 2015
Lexile measure 650; Ages 8-12; Gr.3-6
First edition.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » PS3619 .T8648 S54 2015
Ages 3-5;  Gr.1-3
Cover image of Brave
First Yen Press edition.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » PN6733 .C56 B73 2017
Lexile measure GN360L; Ages 9-13; Gr.5 and up
First edition.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » PS3551 .R5527 N66 2017
Lexile measure GN400L;  Ages 6-10; K-Gr.3; Geisel Award honor, 2018
Cover image of Narwhal : unicorn of the sea
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » PN6727 .C559 N37 2016
Ages 5-8; Gr.1-3; Guided reading M
First edition.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » PN6727 .M4 I2 2017
Ages 14 and up; Gr.9 and up
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » PN6727 .C559 S87 2017
Lexile measure GN510L; Ages 5-8; Gr.1-3
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » PN6727.J354 A66 2017
Lexile measure GN460L;Ages 9-13; Gr.4-8
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » PN6790 .A73 .L564 2017
Lexile measure 290; Ages 4-8; PrK-Gr.3
First edition.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » PN6727 .C415 P37 2017
Ages 10-14; Gr.4-8
First edition.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » PN6727 .C672 R53 2017 BK.1
Lexile measure GN360L; Ages 12 and up; Gr.6 and up
First edition.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » PN6727 .H383 M54 2016 BK.1
Book 1: Lexile measure GN490L; Gr.4-7; Book 2: Lexile measure GN460L; Gr.4-7
First edition.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » GV850 .W25 A3 2017
Gr.6 and up
Lexile measure GN300L; Ages 8-10; Gr.4-7
First edition.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » PS3608 .A54584 R43 2017
Lexile measure 290; Ages 8-12; Gr.3-7
Lexile measure GN350L; Ages 7-11; Gr.1-4
First edition.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » PN6727 .H53 P64 2017
Ages 12 and up; Gr. 8-12
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » PN6727 .R522 B55 2016
Ages 4-6; K-Gr.2
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » PN6727 .N37 F57 2017
Lexile measure 460; Ages 10-12; gr.5-7
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » PN6727 .C293 L69 2016
Lexile measure GN360L; Ages 8-12; Pura Belpre Illustrator Award Winner, 2017
1a edição.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » PN6790 .B63 M576 2014
Elementary; written in Portuguese
First edition.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » PN6733 .O73 B47 2016
Gr.4-8
First edition.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » PN6727 .W435 S65 2017
Gr.10 and up
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » PR9499.4 .S554 M37 2015
Elementary
First edition.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » BL820 .P2 G46 2016
Lexile measure GN520L; Ages 8-10; Gr.1-4
First edition.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » PN6727 .P46 S57 2016
Lexile measure 220; Ages 10-14; Gr.4-8
First edition.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » PN6727 .T45 G46 2016
Lexile measure GN300L;  Ages 8-12; Gr.4-8
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » PN6728 .M658 L58 2016 V.1
Gr.10 and up
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » PN6727 .J36 R65 2015
Lexile measure GN440L; Ages 8-13; Gr.4-7; Newbery award honor book, 2016
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » PN6790 .A73 L59 2015
Lexile measure 290; Ages 7-9; Gr.1-3
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » PS3619 .E469 M37 2015
Lexile measure 770; Ages 10-17; Gr.5-8; Guided reading U
First edition.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » PS3616 .R537 I2 2015
Lexile measure 790; Ages 11-14; Gr.6-9
1st American ed. New York : Philomel, 2006.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » PN6738 .A37 J66 2006
Ages 12-15
First American edition.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » PQ2704 .A9345 E5413 2014
Lexile measure GN300L; Ages 8-12; Gr.3-6; Batchelder Honor book, 2014
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » PN6728 .M766 W55 2014 V.1
Lexile measure GN450L; Ages 11-17
First edition.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » PN6733 .T353 T45 2014
Lexile measure GN300L; Ages 12 and up; Gr.8-12; Caldecott Honor book 2015; Printz award honor 2015
First edition.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » PN6728 .S4565 Y36 2014
Lexile measure GN420L; Ages 12 and up; Gr.8-12
2nd ed. London : Flying Eye Books, [2013], c2012.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » PN6737 .P43 H55 2013 F
Ages 6 and up; Gr.2-5
First edition.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » PS3556 .A953 G35 2014
Ages 8-11; Gr.4-6
Lexile measure GN800L; gr. 5-8
First edition.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » PN6727 .B4765 S48 2014
Lexile measure GN620L; Ages 10 and up; gr.7-12
1st Square Fish ed. New York : Square Fish, 2008.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » PN6727 .Y36 A54 2008
Lexile measure 530; Book level 3.3; Ages 12-18; Gr.6-10
New York : A.A. Levine, 2006.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » PN6727 .T358 A77 2006 F
Ages 8 and up; Gr.6 and up
2nd hardcover ed. Montréal : Drawn & Quarterly ; New York : Distributed in the USA and abroad by Farrar, Straus and Giroux, 2008.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » PN6790 .C853 A2613 2008
Gr. 9-12
New York : Toon Books, c2009.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » PN6728 .B46 H39 2009
Lexile measure 30; Book level 1.3
First edition. New York : First Second, 2013.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » PN6727 .Y36 B68 2013 V.1
Ages 11 -14
1st ed. Columbus, Ohio : Active Synapse, c2000.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » PN6727 .H768 C52 2000
Gr.5-7
Lexile measure 740; Ages 10-14; Grade level 5.2; Horror & supernatural; Fantasy, gr. 4-7
1st ed. New York : Graphix/Scholastic, 2012.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » PN6727 .T294 D73 2012
Ages 10-14; Gr.5-7
1st ed. New York : Doubleday, 2003.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » PN6727 .E35 F34 2003
Ages 15 to adult
1st American ed., Rev. ed. New York : First Second, 2006.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » PZ7 .L3298 K36 2006
Book level 5.1; Ages 12-18; gr.5-8
Watertown, MA : : Charlesbridge, c2006.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » PN6727 .O27 T36 2006
Lexile measure 680; Book level 4.7; Ages 7-12; Gr.4-7
New York : RAW Junior, c2009.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » PN6727 .S546 L58 2009
Lexile measure 160; Book level 1.3; Ages 4-7; gr.PreK-2
1st ed. New York : Alfred A. Knopf, 2009.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » PN6728 .L86 K76 2009
Lexile measure 240; Ages 7-10
1st ed. El Paso, TX : Cinco Puntos Press, c2010.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » PN6727 .U77 M7 2010
Book level 4.4; Ages 14 +
San Francisco, CA : Viz Media ; Washington, DC : The World Bank, c2006.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » LC1481 .R66 2006
1st U.S. ed. New York, N.Y. : Bloomsbury, 2008.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » PN6727 .H246 R36 2008
Lexile measure 500; Book level 3.2; Ages 11-15; Gr.4-7
2nd ed. Columbus, Ohio : Active Synapse, 2003.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » PN6727 .H594 S25 2003
Gr.7-12
Toronto ; Berkeley : Groundwood Books, 2008.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » PN6733 .T353 S55 2008
Book level 3.4; Ages 14 +; Gr.9-12
New York : Houghton Mifflin Harcourt, c2011.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » PN6727 .K278 T56 2011
Ages 12 and up
Golden, Colo. : Fulcrum Pub., c2010.
Green Library » Stacks » E98 .F6 T73 2010
Ages 10 and up; Gr.8-12
accessibilityaccessprivsarrow-circle-rightaskus-chataskus-librarianbarsblogsclosecoffeecomputercomputersulcontactsconversationcopierelectricaloutleteventsexternal-linkfacebook-circlegroupstudyhoursindividualinterlibrarynewsnextoffcampusopenlateoutdoorpeoplepolicypreviousprinterprojectsquietreservesscannersearchstudysupportingtabletourstwitter-circleworking