This guide contains information resources for the laboratory environment and was developed for informational/educational purposes. Please see Stanford's Department of Environmental Health and Safety website for official information about Stanford's policies, procedures, and training.
Table of Contents
The Safety Zone | CENtral Science Blog
The Safety Zone covers chemical safety issues in academic and industrial research labs and in manufacturing. It is intended to be a forum for exchange and discussion of lab and plant safety and accident information without the fanfare of a news article. Written primarily by C&EN senior editor Jyllian Kemsley, the blog also includes contributions from other C&EN staff writers as well as health and safety experts in academia, industry, and government.
Includes methods you can use for other types of searches in a resource.
Reagent - Triphosgene
Find Chemical Substance Identification Information
Find MSDS and Physical Properties
- Lab Safety Demo - Canadian Centre for Occupational Health and Safety. Web Information Service.
- Lab Safety Demo - Combined Chemical Dictionary
- Lab Safety Demo - Encyclopedia of Reagents for Organic Synthesis
- Lab Safety Demo - Reaxys
Find References and Reactions
- Lab Safety Demo - SciFinder : Substance and References (Part 1: Substance ID, Properties, and Literature References)
- Lab Safety Demo - SciFinder : Reactions (Part 2: Triphosgene as Reagent in Reaction Searches)
- Lab Safety Demo - SciFinder : Reactions - Product (Part 3: Reaction search for a product that may include Triphosgene as a reactant or reagent)
Please note: until permission is granted from information providers, access to "Lab Safety Demo" searches are limited to Stanford users.
Some changes in the new edition include:
• A new introduction that sets basic laboratory safety information in the context of developing a culture of safety in chemical laboratories.
• A review of common personal protective equipment and various safety practices in laboratories.
• A guide to chemical hazards, how to recognize them, and sources of information about chemical hazards, including the GHS.
• An overview of safety concerns for many common laboratory techniques.
• An overview of safety equipment and emergency response procedures for fires, spills, and chemical exposures.
• The addition of sidebars, for interest and readability, and “In Your Future” sections for common laboratories hazards and concerns that are less likely to be encountered in introductory and organic laboratories but about which all students should be aware.
• A content shift from safety based primarily on rules to learning about safety through the RAMP (Recognize the hazards, Assess the risks of the hazards, Minimize the risks of the hazards and Prepare for emergencies ) principles." (publisher's description
* Personal protection
* Electrical safety
New books on electrical safety measures
* Laser safety
For Stanford information, please see: Stanford EH&S > Laser Safety Program
* Lab design
Laboratories design and construction
Laboratories safety measures
Handling & storage
Handling, Labelling, and Storing Chemicals
* Standard procedures
Standard operating procedures
"A standard operating procedure (SOP) is a set of written instructions that describes in detail how to perform a laboratory process or experiment safely and effectively." Source: Stanford Environmental Health and Safety. Stanford Operating Procedures.
* Biological materials
For Stanford information, please see: Stanford EH&S > BioSafety Program
Biological laboratories -- safety measures
* Hazardous substances
Hazardous and toxic substances
More resources on harzardous substances
More resources on toxic substances
* Reactive substances
* Reagents & solvents
For Stanford information, please see: Stanford University - General Principles and Practices for Working Safely with Engineered Nanomaterials
* Waste management
* Spills & emergencies
Spill & Emergency Response
* Lessons learned
Undergrad lab safety
- Aligns with the revised safety instruction requirements from the ACS Committee on Professional Training 2015 “Guidelines and Evaluation Procedures for Bachelor’s Degree Programs”
- Provides a systematic approach to incorporating safety and health into the chemistry curriculum
- Topics are divided into layers of progressively more advanced and appropriate safety issues so that some topics are covered 2-3 times, at increasing levels of depth
- Develops a strong safety ethic by continuous reinforcement of safety; to recognize, assess, and manage laboratory hazards; and to plan for response to laboratory emergencies
- Covers a thorough exposure to chemical health and safety so that students will have the proper education and training when they enter the workforce or graduate school"
For Chemistry 132 Students
Find chem safety data
Find reactions & protocols
Find safety articles & books
Safety Literature Databases
American Institute of Chemical Engineers. Center for Chemical Process Safety.
About using this guide
Use this guide to:
- Identify personal protective equipment and training needed before working in the laboratory.
- Read about best practices for safe operations in the lab.
- Consult materials about safe handling of chemicals.
- See resources for working safely with biological materials, nanoengineered materials, and lasers.
- Become knowledgeable about hazardous and reactive substances that you may use or that may be formed in reactions during your experiments.
- View resources on toxicology, waste management, and spills.
- Visit websites to learn more about safety-related organizations.
The "Find" sections at the end of this guide contain searchable databases for finding chemical health and safety information. Sections include:
- Find substance identification information are resources to help you locate a CAS Registry Number, a unique identifier for a substance. CAS RNs enable you to do a more precise and comprehensive search than may be possible if you are searching by chemical name.
- Find MSDS and chemical and physical properties for substances by searching databases.
- Find protocols are intended to help you find procedures, practices, and methods you can use in the laboratory.
- Find reactions and articles in databases to learn more about experimental conditions and what reactions have been reported in the literature for substances you are working with in the lab.
Related subject guides include "major reference works" if you need background information about topics such as a working with a class of compounds or a particular functional group.