Table of Contents
This collection includes original Muybridge glass plate negatives and prints, as well as modern day copy prints of his photographs. Original materials, 1872-1880, include images of the Stanfords' residences in Sacramento and San Francisco, other unidentified estates, and two printed cards from his horse in motion series, 1878. Images represented by copy prints include Canadian Pacific Railway, Native Americans, San Francisco, Oakland, and several Central America photographs. Also included in the collection is a set of glass slides, primarily of images included in this collection, probably assembled by Harry C. Peterson, former curator of the StanfordMuseum.
39 prints in 10 folders.
1. Vertical steam pumps, stereo, no date (JL006)
2. 15 stereos from "Pacific Coast Series," including Pigeon Point, New Years Island, Pescadero's Pebble Beach, and Pescadero (M237).
3. 1 stereo San Francisco City Hall cornerstone laying, 1872. Also includes a stereo by Thomas Houseworth of White Sulphur Springs, undated.
4. 3 prints of the James M. Rogers residence, Watsonville, CA .
5. 2 prints of San Francisco, ca. 1875.
6-10. 18 prints of a San Francisco Peninsula estate, undated.
1) 8 x 10" negatives of plates 1-13
2) 2 sets of prints of plates 1-13
3) Partial set of prints of plates
4) Booklet published by Wells Fargo Bank in 1979 entitled San Francisco 1878 : portrait of the city by Eadweard Muybridge.
Plates in this copy are incomplete. A detailed list of holdings is available in the department. The department has copy negatives for some photographs from this work; consult a staff member for more information.
Includes correspondence about J.D.B. Stillman’s book The Horse in Motion and Muybridge’s copyright claim to the work.
Primary and secondary sources pertaining to the life of Leland Stanford and the history of StanfordUniversity's founding. Includes material on Muybridge’s work at Palo Alto Stock Farm and the invention of motion pictures.
Papers of StanfordUniversity’s first president. Includes correspondence with Muybridge.
Miles, a professor of experimental psychology at Stanford University, endeavored to memorialize Muybridge's work by establishing a permanent exhibit at the Stanford Museum and correspondingly hosting a 50th anniversary event. The collection includes correspondence about Muybridge; material about the Semi-Centennial Celebration and the invention of moving pictures; ephemera and published articles about Muybridge; and photographs and negatives, including those used by Miles in his articles and publications about Muybridge.