Mysteries for children and young adults

This guide lists selected mystery fiction for children and young adults to be found in the Cubberley Library collections.  It is arranged by age of audience.

Table of Contents

Ages 4-6

First edition.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » PS3619 .E469 B33 2018
Lexile measure 210; Ages 4-8; PrK-Gr.1
First edition.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » PS3612 .A974 A615 2017
Lexile measure AD530L; Ages 5-7; K-Gr.3
Cover image of What really happened to Humpty
Watertown, MA : Charlesbridge, c2009.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » PS3618 .A687 W48 2009
Lexile measure 550; Book level 3.2; Gr.1-4; Ages 5-10
New York, N.Y. : Scholastic, [1991]
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » PS3545 .A738 B87 1991
Guided Reading Level O; Lexile measure 450; Ages 5-9.  Part of the Boxcar children mysteries series.
Cover image of Ada Lace, on the case : an Ada Lace adventure
First Simon & Shuster Books for Young Readers edition.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » PS3603 .A4239 A63 2017
Ages 6-10; Gr.1-5

7

First edition.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » PS3552 .U77 K55 2018
Lexile measure 450; Ages 7-9; Gr.2-4; Geisel award honor book, 2019
First Edition.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » PS3552 .U77 K56 2017
Lexile measure 440; Ages 7-9; Gr.2-4; Guided reading K; Geisel Award honor, 2018
Ages 7-11; Gr.2-4
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » PS3601 .D572 D36 2014
Lexile measure 550; Ages 7-10; Gr.2-4
Cover image of The case of the snack snatcher
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » PS8629 .D64 C38 2015
Lexile measure 490; Ages 7-9

8

Cover image of Me, Frida, and the secret of the peacock ring
First edition.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » PS3603 .E745 M4 2018
Lexile 710L; Ages 8-12
First Atheneum Books for Young Readers paperback edition.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » PS3618 .O8482 W58 2017
Lexile measure 670; Ages 8-12; Gr.4-6
First edition.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » PS3603 .A75277 W67 2017
Lexile measure 840; Ages 8-12; Gr.4-6
Cover image of Esme Dooley & the Kirkkomaki circus
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » PS3604 .O56678 E864 2017
Ages 8-12; Gr.3-6
First Aladdin hardcover edition.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » PS3603 .H483 C73 2016
Lexile measure 910;  Ages 8-12; Gr.3-7
First edition.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » PS3607 .R27 E83 2013
Lexile measure 720; Ages 8-12; Gr.4-7; Guided reading V
New York : Amulet Books, 2008.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » PS3602 .U2663 S57 2008
Lexile measure 720; Book level 4.8; Ages 8 and up; Gr.3-5; Guided reading R
1st ed. New York : Scholastic Press, 2004.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » PS3602 .A623 C48 2004
Lexile measure 770; Ages 8-12; Gr.3-7 Guided reading T
1st ed. New York : Henry Holt and Co., 2008.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » PS3602 .R538 M37 2008
Lexile measure NC700L; Ages 8-12; Gr.6-8; Guided reading U
1st ed. Somerville, Mass. : Candlewick Press, 2010.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » PS3602 .O6565 Z67 2010
Lexile measure 860; Ages 8-12; gr. 4-7;  Book level 5.3; Biography, Historical fiction

9

Cover image of The shadow cipher
First edition.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » PS3618 .U3245 S48 2017
Lexile measure HL780L; Ages 9-13;  Gr.3-7
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » PS3611 .W58 C33 2018
Ages 12 and up; Gr.9 and up
First edition.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » PS3610 .O38364 P37 2018
Lexile measure 610; Ages 9-13; Gr.4-6
Cover image of Cici's journal : the adventures of a writer-in-training
First edition.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » PN6747 .C435 C3713 2017
Lexile measure GN460L; Ages 9-13; Gr.3-6
First edition.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » PR6069 .T744 C74 2016
Lexile measure 690; Ages 9-12; Gr.3-7
First print edition.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » Q163 .G59 2014
Ages 9-12
First Edition.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » PS3608 .A71578 D48 2015
Ages 9-12; Gr.4-6
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » PS3612 .I932 C66 2014
Lexile measure 850; Ages 9-13
Weston, MA : Tumblehome Learning, Inc., c2012.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » PS3614 .O972 D47 2012
Lexile measure 750; Ages 9-13
Weston, MA : Tumblehome Learning, Inc., c2013.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » PS3614 .O972 V53 2013
Lexile measure 750; Ages 9-13
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » PS3614 .O972 P47 2014
Lexile measure 750; Ages 9-13
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » PS3614 .O972 B34 2014
Lexile measure 710; Ages 9-13
Cover image of The Westing game
New York : Puffin Books, 2004, c1978.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » PS3568 .A696 W47 2004
Lexile measure 750; Book level 5.3; Ages 9-12; Gr.6-8; Guided reading V
New York : Macmillan, [1968]
Education Library (Cubberley) » Stacks » TX 428.51 .H22H
Lexile measure 670; Book level 4.8; Ages 9-12; Gr.3-5 ;Guided reading V

10

Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » PS3619 .E469 M37 2015
Lexile measure 770; Ages 10-17; Gr.5-8; Guided reading U
Cover image of Greenglass house
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » PS3613 .I532246 G74 2014
Lexile measure 800; Ages 10-14; Gr.4-7
1st ed. New York : Scholastic Press, 2011.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » PS3611 .I732 I28 2011
Lexile measure 670; Ages 10-14; Gr.5-8
1st American ed. Oxford ; New York : David Fickling Books, 2008.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » PR6104 .O88 L66 2008
Lexile measure 640; Ages 10-14; Gr.6-9; Book level 4.1
1st ed. New York : Wendy Lamb Books, c2009.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » PS3619 .T4 W48 2009
Lexile measure 750; Book level 4.5; Ages 10-13; Gr.4-7; Guided reading W

11

Cover image of O C Daniel
First edition.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » PR9199.4 .K565 O235 2016
Lexile measure 560; Gr.6-12; Guided reading Z+
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » PS3618 .I795 B43 2016
Lexile measure 850; Ages 11-18; Gr.7-12
Cover image of I am Princess X
First edition.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » PS3616 .R537 I2 2015
Lexile measure 790; Ages 11-14; Gr.6-9
First edition.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » PS3572 .O33 B66 2013
Gr.5-8
1st ed. New York : Little, Brown, 2008.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » PS3619 .T535 M974 2008
Lexile measure 890; Book level 6.1; Ages 11-14; Gr.5-9; Guided reading V
First Edition.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » PR6069 .T744 W45 2014
Lexile measure 670; Ages 11-15; Gr.4-7
New York : Dial Books for Young Readers, c2012.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » PS3570 .U653 T49 2012
Lexile measure 560; Ages 11-15; Gr.5-7; Guided reading W
First edition.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » PR6069 .T744 S37 2013
Lexile measure 720; Ages 11-15; Gr.6-8
First edition.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » PR6108 .A787 S74 2016
Lexile measure 930; Gr.6 and up

12

New York : Atheneum Books for Young Readers, ©2011.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » PS3551 .V5 C58 2011
Gr.6-8
Cover image of City of saints & thieves
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » PS3601 .N54443 C58 2017
Gr.7 and up
First edition.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » PS3618 .I8 J33 2014
Lexile measure 920; Ages 12 and up; Gr.7-12
Education Library (Cubberley) » Stacks » PS3607 .L437 S65 2014
Lexile measure 840; Ages 12-15
Cover image of Picture me gone
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » PS3568 .O84195 P53 2013
Lexile measure HL780L; Ages 12 and up; Gr.7-12
First edition.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » PS3601 .N434 V36 2014
Lexile measure 850; Ages 12-18; Gr.9-12
New York : Viking/Sleuth, 2006.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » PS3556 .E68 C48 2006
Lexile measure HL880L; Ages 12 and up; Gr.7-12; Guided reading T
1st ed. New York : Disney/Hyperion, c2010.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » PS3603 .A7765 H45 2010
Lexile measure 800; Book level 5.5; Ages 12 and up; Gr.7-12; Guided reading Z
London : Young Arrow, 2011.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » PS3568 .E476345 V57 2011
Lexile measure 480; Book level 3.5; Ages 12 and up; Gr.7-12

13

Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » PR6106 .O953 S64 2017
Gr.9 and up
First edition.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » PS3612 .A8686 D74 2017
Gr.8 and up
Cover image of The unfinished life of Addison Stone
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » PS3557 .R4886 U54 2014
Lexile measure HL760L; Ages 13 and up; Gr.10-12
First edition.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » PS3607 .I433 F35 2014
Lexile measure HL640L; Ages 13 and up; Gr.7-12
1st ed. New York : Little, Brown, 2012.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » PS3602 .R3957 D58 2012
Lexile measure HL730L; Ages 13 and up; Gr.8-12

14

Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » PS3618 .I233 P38 2019
Ages 14 and up; Gr.10 and up
First edition.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » PS3610 .O3657 V36 2019
Lexile measure HL670L; Ages 14 and up
Cover image of The takedown
First edition.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » PS3623 .A4566 T35 2017
Lexile measure HL740L; Ages 14 and up; Gr.9 and up
First edition.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » PR9199.4 .S86 S23 2018
Gr.9 and up
First edition.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » PS3610 .A35478 M66 2018
Ages 14 and up; Gr.9 and up
First edition.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » PS3613 .C5852 O54 2017
Lexile measure HL730L; Ages 14 and up; Gr.8 and up
Cover image of Truly devious
First edition.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » PS3610 .O3655 T78 2018
Gr.8 and up
First edition.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » PS3615 .L58635 V36 2015
Lexile measure 890; Ages 14 and up; Gr.9 and up
First Ember edition.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » PS3604 .O563 T48 2016
Lexile measure HL630L; Ages 14 and up; Gr.9 and up
First edition.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » PS3618 .O368 L37 2016
Ages 14 and up; Gr.9 and up
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » PS3619 .M5937 P37 2016
Lexile measure HL630L; Ages 14 and up; Gr.9-12
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » PR9199.4 .C65845 W58 2016
Lexile measure HL730L; Ages 14 and up; Gr.9 and up
First edition.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » PS3605 .G35 J85 2016
Lexile measure HL790L; Ages 14 and up; Gr.8 and up
First edition.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » PS3603 .A89895 S78 2016
Lexile measure HL750L; Ages 14 and up; Gr.9 and up
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » PS3625 .O99 P37 2013
Lexile measure 970; Ages 14 and up; Gr.9-12
New York : Speak, 2014, c2013.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » PS3619 .E685 O98 2014
Lexile measure HL590L; Ages 14 and up; gr.10-12
New York : Speak, 2003.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » PS3573 .E673 B53 2003
Lexile measure 580; Book level 4.7; Ages 14 and up; Gr.7-12
1st American ed. New York : Chicken House, 2006.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » PR6102 .R67 R63 2006
Lexile measure 700; Ages 14 and up
accessibilityaccessprivsarrow-circle-rightaskus-chataskus-librarianbarsblogsclosecoffeecomputercomputersulcontactsconversationcopierelectricaloutleteventsexternal-linkfacebook-circlegroupstudyhoursindividualinterlibrarynewsnextoffcampusopenlateoutdoorpeoplepolicypreviousprinterprojectsquietreservesscannersearchstudysupportingtabletourstwitter-circleworking