Organic Chemistry Laboratory
Library resources for students taking organic chemistry laboratory courses.
Table of Contents
• A new introduction that sets basic laboratory safety information in the context of developing a culture of safety in chemical laboratories.
• A review of common personal protective equipment and various safety practices in laboratories.
• A guide to chemical hazards, how to recognize them, and sources of information about chemical hazards, including the GHS.
• An overview of safety concerns for many common laboratory techniques.
• An overview of safety equipment and emergency response procedures for fires, spills, and chemical exposures.
• The addition of sidebars, for interest and readability, and “In Your Future” sections for common laboratories hazards and concerns that are less likely to be encountered in introductory and organic laboratories but about which all students should be aware.
• A content shift from safety based primarily on rules to learning about safety through the RAMP (Recognize the hazards, Assess the risks of the hazards, Minimize the risks of the hazards and Prepare for emergencies ) principles." (publisher's description)
More safety information resources
This page contains spectral databases, print handbooks, and textbooks. It is possible to search by spectral peaks in SDBS and Properties of Organic Compounds. In SciFinder, explore by Substance > Substance Identifier (e.g. chemical name). View detailed substance information to see experimental and predicted spectral diagrams.
Reactions & articles
Dictionary of Organic Compounds
The Dictionary of Organic Compounds includes key literature references to spectra, crystallography, synthesis, and review papers.
Locating full-text from references:
Largest chemistry databases
It is possible to search Reaxys and SciFinder by a chemical structure, reaction scheme, and bibliographic data. Reaxys is the largest handbook of physical property data and includes links to articles that contain spectra. SciFinder is the largest chemistry database and is compiling handbook type of information - properties and links to spectral diagrams - in the full display of chemical substance records.
Major interdisciplinary databases
Site-licensed by Science Library
The Robin Li and Melissa Ma Science Library has purchased campus-wide site licenses for several products. Access to all of these products is limited to current Stanford students, faculty, and staff.