Philosophy of education

This guide is for those beginning research on the philosophy of education.

Background information

Education Library (Cubberley) » Stacks » LB880 .F732 W55 2019
Cover image of Encyclopedia of educational philosophy and theory
Education Library (Cubberley) » Reference » LB14.7 .E5628 2017 V.1
"The two-volume Encyclopedia of Educational Theory and Philosophy introduces readers to theories that have stood the test of time and those that have provided the historical foundation for the best of contemporary educational theory and practice. Drawing together a team of international scholars, this invaluable reference examines the global landscape of all the key theories and the theorists behind them and presents them in the context needed to understand their strengths and weaknesses"
Education Library (Cubberley) » Stacks » LB17 .P46 2017
Malden, MA : Blackwell Pub., 2003.
SAL3 (off-campus storage) » Stacks » LB14.7 .B57 2003
Malden, MA : Blackwell, c2003.
Green Library » Information Center » B72 .B565 1991 V.27
New York : Routledge, 2010.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Stacks » LB2806.15 .C6965 2010
Armonk, N.Y. : M.E. Sharpe, c2005.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Reference » LB15 .E473 2005 V.1
Charlotte, N.C. : Information Age Pub., c2013.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Reference » LB14.7 .H3636 2013
"In addition to the traditional the traditional theories presented, the handbook includes emerging educational theories for the 21st century, as well as practical examples of the use of these theories in research..."
4th ed. / London ; New York : Routledge, 2006.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Stacks » LB880 .B34 2006
Oxford ; New York : Oxford University Press, 2009.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Stacks » LB14.7 .O93 2009
"The Oxford Handbook of Philosophy of Education is intended to serve as a general introduction to key issues in the field, to further the philosophical pursuit of those issues, and to bring philosophy of education back into closer contact with general philosophy. Distinguished philosophers and philosophers of education, most of whom have made important contributions to core areas of philosophy, turn their attention in these 28 essays to a broad range of philosophical questions concerning education."
Malden, MA : Blackwell Pub., 2007.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Stacks » LB17 .P484 2007
Los Angeles : SAGE, 2010.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Reference » LB17 .S114 2010
"This book provides an authoritative, yet accessible guide to the philosophy of education, its scope, its key thinkers and movements, and its potential contribution to a range of educational concerns."
Los Angeles : SAGE Publications, c2008.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Reference » LA210 .A15 2008 V.1

New books

Education Library (Cubberley) » Stacks » LC71 .C745 2019
First edition.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Stacks » LB2331.65 .S6 R63 2019
Education Library (Cubberley) » Stacks » LB1025.3 .T434 2018
First edition.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Stacks » LC72 .A23 2018
Education Library (Cubberley) » Stacks » HV4708 .H665 2018
Education Library (Cubberley) » Stacks » LB1025.3 .S397 2019
2018 special edition.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Stacks » LA205 .G72 2018
Primera edición.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Stacks » LB14.7 .A45 2018
Education Library (Cubberley) » Stacks » BF575 .L8 M474 2018
Education Library (Cubberley) » Stacks » LB1139.23 .M323 2018 F
Practice-oriented
Education Library (Cubberley) » Stacks » LC1200 .J86 2018
Practice-oriented

Journals

[Oxford, New York] Pergamon Press.
SAL3 (off-campus storage) » Stacks » LB1025.2 .E38 V.42 NO.8 2010
Charlottesville, Va. [etc.] American Educational Studies Association.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Reading Room
[Urbana, University of Illinois]
SAL3 (off-campus storage) » Stacks » 370.5 .E277 V.60:NO.6 2010
Oxford, Carfax Pub. Co.
SAL3 (off-campus storage) » Stacks » 370.6 .P5684 V.44 2010
Urbana, Ill. : Philosophy of Education Society
SAL3 (off-campus storage) » Stacks » 370.6 .P568 2011
New Brunswick, N.J.
SAL3 (off-campus storage) » Stacks » 370.5 .S933 V.27 2008

Databases

Education databases

[Washington, DC : National Library of Education?, 199?-
Stanford Libraries » Online resource » eResource
Bibliographic database of educational resources including articles, reports, and curriculum.
[Bronx, N.Y.] : H.W. Wilson Co.
Stanford Libraries » Online resource » eResource
Indexes and abstracts articles of English-language periodicals and books on education from 1983 on. Abstracting coverage begins with January 1994. Full-text coverage begins in January 1996 and is available for over half the 600 journals indexed.
Bethesda, MD : Editorial Projects in Education, Inc.
Stanford Libraries » Online resource » eResource
Birmingham, AL : Teachers College Record
Stanford Libraries » Online resource » eResource
"Teachers College Record Book Reviews provides comprehensive reviews of the leading books in education and educational research by major scholars in these fields. "

Related Databases

Cumulative ed. Bowling Green, Ohio, Philosophy Documentation Center, Bowling Green University.
SAL3 (off-campus storage) » Stacks » Z7127 .P4 V.39 NO.4 2005
"The Philosopher's Index is a bibliographic database with informative, author-written abstracts covering scholarly research in all areas of philosophy. The literature covered goes back to 1940 and includes journal articles, books, book chapters such as contributions to an anthology, and book reviews."
Charlottesville, VA : InteLex Corp., c1990-
Stanford Libraries » Online resource » eResource
"Includes scholarly complete editions or selections from classics in philosophy, political science, and economics."

Websites

accessibilityaccessprivsarrow-circle-rightaskus-chataskus-librarianbarsblogsclosecoffeecomputercomputersulcontactsconversationcopierelectricaloutleteventsexternal-linkfacebook-circlegroupstudyhoursindividualinterlibrarynewsnextoffcampusopenlateoutdoorpeoplepolicypreviousprinterprojectsquietreservesscannersearchstudysupportingtabletourstwitter-circleworking