Rhetorics of Trauma

PWR 1VK - Spring 2019 - Instructor: Kinsey, V.

A guide to resources for PWR 1VK: Rhetorics of Trauma

Reference/Background Sources

Use these sources to help you pick a topic and to provide context to your research based argument.

[Sterling, VA] : Paratext, 2002-
Stanford Libraries » Online resource » eResource
This database finds reference books in our print and digital collection on your topic.
This one is a good online alphabetical index of everything related to trauma - good for helping discover a topic to use for your RBA. Entries include:Genes and Mental Illness; Secondary Trauma Among Behavioral Health Professionals, chaplains, first responders, etc.; Campus violence; Childhood Traumatic Stress; Community Disasters; Cultural Aspects of Trauma; Medical Marijuana and PTSD; pretty much anything you want!  
New York, NY : Facts on File, c2010.
Green Library » Stacks » BF175.5 .P75 D63 2010
Cambridge : Cambridge University Press, 2011
Stanford Libraries » Online resource » eResource
Oxford ; New York : Oxford University Press, c2012.
Green Library » Stacks » RC552 .P67 O94 2012
Stanford, Calif. : Stanford University Press, 2007.
Green Library » Stacks » RC552 .P67 T744 2007

Selected Searchworks Subject Terms

Selected Searchable Ejournals

You will find articles from these journals using databases (most will be found in PubMed/Medline), but you can also search these journals individually for articles from a very specific perspective. Look at your options in the Find Full Text linked page. Different providers have different date ranges.

White River Junction, Vt. : The Center, [1990]-
Stanford Libraries » Online resource » eResource
full text access from 1983-current.
[New York, N.Y.] : [Kluwer Academic/Plenum Publishers] : International Society for Traumatic Stress Studies
Stanford Libraries » Online resource » eResource
[Järfälla] : Co-action Pub. ; [Amsterdam] : European Society for Traumatic Stress Studies, [2010]-
Stanford Libraries » Online resource » eResource
Washington, DC : American Psychological Association, ©2009-
Stanford Libraries » Online resource » eResource
[Thousand Oaks, Calif.] : Sage Publications, 2000-
Stanford Libraries » Online resource » eResource
Philadelphia, PA : Taylor and Francis, [2001]-
Stanford Libraries » Online resource » eResource
[Tallahassee, FL?] : Traumatology Forum Research Group, [1995]-
Stanford Libraries » Online resource » eResource

Selected Databases

Try these suggested databases  and these additional:

Ipswich, MA : EBSCO Pub.
Stanford Libraries » Online resource » eResource
A multidisciplinary database which provides full-text for over 4,650 scholarly publications. A great place to start your research.
[New York] : Elsevier, 2004-
Stanford Libraries » Online resource » eResource
SciVerse Scopus offers researchers a quick, easy and comprehensive resource to support their research needs in the scientific, technical, medical and social sciences fields and also in the arts and humanities.
[Bethesda, Md.] : Cambridge Scientific Abstracts
Stanford Libraries » Online resource » eResource
[Ann Arbor, Mich.] : ProQuest.
Stanford Libraries » Online resource » eResource
Search historical newspapers (going back to the 19th century), recent newspapers from around the globe, and special subject newspapers focusing on gender, ethnic groups, and alternative opinions.

Primary Sources

Here are some examples of primary sources that reflect experiences of trauma through media such as art, literature, film, music.

[Los Angeles, CA] : USC Shoah Foundation Institute for Visual History and Education
Stanford Libraries » Online resource » eResource
Survivor testimonies from European Holocaust, 1939-1945; Armenian Genocide, 1915-1923; Nanjing Massacre, 1937; Rwandan Tutsi Genocide, 1994. When you visit the site for the first time, you will need to register for an account. Use your Stanford email address.
Rev. ed. Durham : Duke University Press, 2006.
Green Library » Stacks » E184 .M5 M465 2006
accessibilityaccessprivsarrow-circle-rightaskus-chataskus-librarianbarsblogsclosecoffeecomputercomputersulcontactsconversationcopierelectricaloutleteventsexternal-linkfacebook-circlegroupstudyhoursindividualinterlibrarynewsnextoffcampusopenlateoutdoorpeoplepolicypreviousprinterprojectsquietreservesscannersearchstudysupportingtabletourstwitter-circleworking