Selective guide to library and online resources for Russian and Soviet literature: poetry, novels, short stories, etc. For tips on finding recently-published criticism and journal articles online, see the guide "Russia and Eurasia: Find articles."
Table of Contents
New acquisitions in Russian literature
Russian literature and works about it are found in the call number range PG2900-PG3999. Most of them are in the 3rd floor stacks of Green Library; others are in SAL3. Rare works and materials published before approximately 1830 can be consulted in Special Collections. Below are some new acquisitions in 20th-century Russian literature.
Across borders : 20th century Russian literature and Russian-Jewish cultural contacts : essays in honor of Vladimir Khazan
Андрей Платонов и литературная Москва : А.К. Воронский, А.М. Горький, Б.А. Пильняк, Б.Л. Пастернак, Артем Веселый, С.Ф. Буданцев, В.С. Гроссман
"Это просто буквы на бумаге ..." : Владимир Сорокин : после литературы / редакторы-составители: Е. Добренко, И. Калинин, М. Липовецкий.
Selected guides and histories, most of which are online as well as in book format.
Encyclopedias and dictionaries
Selected encyclopedias and dictionaries
Find biographical information about authors, connect authors with their pseudonyms. Find more works like the ones below using SeachWorks subject terms: Authors Russian; Biography
Find literary terms in English and Russian. SearchWorks subject terms: Literature Terminology; Criticism Terminology; Russian language Dictionaries
Bibliographies: general, 19th century
Selected bibliographies. Find additional ones in SearchWorks using the subject terms: Russian literature 19th century Bibliography
Bibliographies, etc.: 20th century
Use bibliographies to find journal articles not in databases. Find more bibliographies using SearchWorks subject terms: Russian literature 20th century Bibliography. For writers currently active, also click on the section "Russian websites on Russian literature" in the table of contents in the left-hand column.
Bibliographies: dissident and emigre
Selected bibliographies. For a good list of additional ones, see June Farris's guide to Russian & Soviet literature, http://guides.lib.uchicago.edu/content.php?pid=255419&sid=2109015. SearchWorks terms: Russian literature foreign countries; Russians foreign countries; Russian literature [particular country, e.g., France]; Russian authors [country/foreign countries]; Russian [genre, e.g., theater] [country/foreign countries]; Exiles Russia; Exiles Soviet Union; Underground literature Soviet Union
Bibliographies & guides: 21st century
Bibliographies and guides can make it easier for you to find works by and about recent authors. Find more using SearchWork terms Russian literature 21st century bibliography and also Russian literature 20th century bibliography. See also the section "Russian websites on Russian literature" in the table of contents in the left-hand column of this guide.