This guide is intended to support the Sociology 200, research seminar for sociology majors. This course is a capstone course for students in the major. In this course sociological problems are framed, linked to theories, and answers pursued through research designs, literature reviews and independent research. How to formulate a research question; how to integrate theory and methods are core outcomes for the class.
Table of Contents
Additional article databases
Data & Statistics
Data & statistical resources recommended for this class:
SDA: Survey Documentation and Analysis
SDA is a set of programs for the documentation and Web-based analysis of survey data. SDA is developed and maintained by the Computer-assisted Survey Methods Program (CSM) at the University of California, Berkeley.
Association of Religion Data Archives (ARDA)
The Association of Religion Data Archives (ARDA) strives to democratize access to the best data on religion. Founded as the American Religion Data Archive in 1997 and going online in 1998, the initial archive was targeted at researchers interested in American religion.
Current Population Survey
Statistics for California local areas.
Dates vary depending on the statistics, population data goes back to 2000 Decennial Census.
Historical U.S. Census Data
Using the same SDA online analysis tool. Please note: You must create an IPUMS user account.
Inter-University Consortium for Political and Social Research (ICPSR)
Social science data archive of more than 500,000 files of research in the social sciences.
iPoll Roper Center for Public Opinion Research
IPoll is a comprehensive, up-to-date source for US nationwide public opinion.
National Center for Education Statistics (NCES)-Data Tools
The NCES is the primary federal entity collecting and analyzing education-related data for the United States and other nations.
National Center for Health
Center for Disease Control and Prevention-Health Data Interactive
Urban Institute's Children of Immigrants Data Tool
Statistical Databases with Visualization Tools
Here is a short list of licensed and non-liscenced database that have graphing and map visualization tools.
General resources on reserve
Handbooks on methods
Selected Journal Titles
American sociological review
Annual review of sociology
Ecology and Society
Ethnic and Racial Studies
Gender & Society
Migration; a quarterly review.
Population Studies : quarterly journal of demography
Public Opinion Quarterly
Social Science Research
Sociology of education
Citation & Style Guides
Citation management tools & style guides
Managing book/journal article citations:
Resources for keeping track of your citations.
ASA style guides:
American Sociological Association standards is the preferred style for this class.
Style guide by the American Sociological Association. 3rd ed. (2007) [Green Library]
How to cite DATA:
ICPSR - citing data
IASSIST - quick guide to data citation